Search Close Search
Page Menu

The Psychiatry Department Held Its First Research Day In 5 Years

Date Posted: Tuesday, May 02, 2023


Research Day was held at the medical school building on Thursday, April 27th  for the first time since 2018.  The Keynote Presentation was given by Wilson Compton, MD, MPE.  Dr. Compton is currently the Deputy Director of the National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA) of the National Institutes of Health. 

After the Keynote Presentation, Nancy Byatt, MD, DO, MS, MBA received the Steven M Banks Research Mentoring Award. Alan Brown, MD received the Excellence in Quality Improvement Award in Recognition of Outstanding Provision of Quality Care.  And Dr. Anthony Rothschild, MD received an award in honor of Outstanding Leadership as Psychiatry Research Day Chair. 

Later Implementation Science and Practice Advances Research Center (iSPARC) gave a symposium entitled Innovations to Reduce Alcohol and Drug Use in Marginalized Populations.  Different speakers presented on veterans and substance use with co-occurring disorders as well as other topics including the safety of Spravato (Esketamine), and Protective Factor Prevalence in youth among other topics.

In addition, there were 40 poster presentations in the lobby on the latest research. These included wide-ranging topics from maternal depression to current public policy and psychopharmacological research.  Several of these presentations will be made at the American Psychiatric Association’s annual conference on May 20th in San Francisco. 

For more information, please read the event brochure. 

Photos: Clockwise From Top Left: Picture 1: Cheryl Banks, Dr. Anthony Rothschild, Dr. Wilson Compton, Dr. Kimberly Yonkers, Amy Brudnick Ceral; Picture 2: Dr. KImberly Yonkers, Dr. Andrew Tapper, Dr. Anthony Rothschild, Dr. Wilson Compton, Dr. Michael Gustafson, Dr. Katherine Luzuriaga; Picture 3: Dr. Wilson Compton, Picture 4: The Room; Picture 5: Dr. Kimberly Yonkers, Dr. Anthony Rothschild; Picture 6: Dr. Alan Brown, Dr. Kimberly Yonkers; Picture 7: Cheryl Banks, Dr. Nancy Byatt; Picture 8: Dr. Yael Dvir