Department of Psychiatry

Executive Committee

Douglas Ziedonis, MD, MPH, Chairman, Department of Psychiatry

Mary Ahn, MD, Director, Child & Adolescent Psychiatry Training; Director, Career Development & Research Office

Julianna Bates, PhD, Assistant Director, Career Development & Research Office, Department of Psychiatry

Sheldon Benjamin, MD, Vice Chair of Psychiatric Education; Director, Residency Training Program in Psychiatry

Alan Brown, MD, Vice Chair, Adult Psychiatry Clinical Services

Carol DeCourcey, Academic Administrator, Department of Psychiatry

Jordan Eisenstock, MD, Associate Director of Neuropsychiatry Training, Department of Psychiatry

Deb Ekstrom, Chief Executive Officer, Community HealthLink, Inc.

Xiaoduo Fan, MD, MPH, Director, Psychotic Disorders Clinical & Research Program

Deb Field, MD, Co-Director; Medical Student Clerkship Program in Psychiatry; Staff Psychiatrist, Homelessness Program, Community HealthLink, Inc.

Carl Fulwiler, MD, PhD, Director, Center for Mental Health Services Research

Jean Frazier, MD, Vice Chair, Child & Adolescent Psychiatry

Jeffrey Geller, MD, MPH, Facility Medical Director, Worcester Recovery Center and Hospital

Diane George, Office Manager, Department of Psychiatry

Gerardo Gonzalez, MD, Director, Division of Addiction Psychiatry; Director, Addiction Psychiatry Fellowship

Tom Grisso, PhD, Director, Law and Psychiatry Program; Director of Psychology

Marie Hobart, MD, Chief Medical Officer, Community HealthLink, Inc.

Jean King, PhD, Vice Chair, Psychiatry Research; Director, Center for Comparative Neuroimaging

Chuck Lidz, PhD, Director, Departmental Ethics Committee

Kristin Mattocks, PhD, Associate Chief of Staff/Research, VA Central Western Massachusetts; and Assistant Professor of QHS & Psychiatry

Caroline McGrath, RN, BSN, Executive Director, UMass Adolescent Inpatient Programs

William (Bill) J. McIlvane, PhD, Director, Mental Retardation Research Center, E.K. Shriver Center

Peter Metz, MD, Director, Communities of Care

William O'Brien, MSW, Executive Director, UMass Memorial Behavioral Health System

Mai-Lan Rogoff, MD, Associate Dean of Student Affairs, Co-Director, Medical Student Education in Psychiatry

Anthony Rothschild, MD, Director, Center for Psychopharmacologic Research and Treatment

David Smelson, PsyD, Vice Chair, Psychiatry Clinical Research

Andrew Tapper, PhD, Acting Director, Brudnick Neuropsychiatric Research Institute

Dana Weaver, PhD, Associate Chief of Staff of Mental Health Services & Behavioral Sciences, Northampton VA Medical Center

Denise Barrett, Executive Assistant to the Chair


For information about the Department of Psychiatry, please email or telephone 508-856-6580.

Send mail to: Department of Psychiatry
University of Massachusetts Medical School
55 Lake Avenue North, Rm. S7-823
Worcester MA 01655