Search Close Search
Search Close Search
Page Menu

Faculty Diversity Scholars Program (FDSP)

The primary goal of the FDSP was to recruit new faculty (including the T.H. Chan School of Medicine, Morningside Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences and the Tan Chingfen Graduate School of Nursing) from underrepresented groups in the health sciences and to support their successful academic career advancement. In order to address departments with minority underutilization, African American and Hispanic/Latino(a) faculty are among the underrepresented groups who specifically would benefit from this program. The program was part of UMass Chan’s multifaceted approach to workforce diversity. 

FDSP Scholars were provided up to $300,000 over 3 years for salary support, research startup costs, supplies/equipment, lab personnel, and travel for conferences/professional activities.


David E. Chiriboga, MD, MPH (Medicine)
Ana Luisa Maldonado-Contreras, PhD (MaPS)
Paulo N. Martins, MD, PhD (Surgery)
Teresita Padilla-Benavides, PhD
B.Marie Ward, MD, FACS (Surgery) 2013-2016
Javier Gordon Ogembo, PhD (Medicine) 2013-2016
Stephanie Rodrigues, PhD (Psychiatry) 2013-2014
Rashelle Hayes, PhD (Medicine) 2009-2012
Sonia Ortiz-Miranda, PhD (MaPS) 2008-2012
Benjamin Nwosu, MD (Pediatrics) 2008-2011
Onesky Aupont, MD, MPH, PhD (Pediatrics) 2005-2008
Chyke Doubeni, MD, MPH (Family Medicine) 2004-2006
Abraham Ndiwant, EdD, RN (Tan Chingfen Graduate School of Nursing) 2002-2007 
Ethel Gordon, PhD (Medicine) 2000-2003
Joaquin Cortiella, MD, MPH (Anesthesiology) 1998-1999
Samuel Abrokwah, MD (Anesthesiology) 1997-1998