Campus alert status is yellow: For the latest campus alert status, news and resources, visit

Search Close Search
Page Menu

Student Government At UMMS

The University of Massachusetts Medical School is comprised of: 

  • The School of Medicine (SOM) 
  • The Graduate School of Nursing (GSN) 
  • The Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences (GSBS) 

Each school is served by its own representative student government, elected by the student body:

  • The Student Body Committee (SBC) for the SOM
  • The Graduate Student Nursing Organization (GSNO) for the GSN
  • The Graduate Student Body Council (GSBC) for the GSBS

All three schools are represented on the Student Government Alliance by two members from each school's governing body. Leadership of the SGA rotates annually between representatives from the three schools.