Campus Alert: Find the latest UMMS campus news and resources at

Page Menu

Graduate Student Body Council (GSBC)

The Graduate Student Body Council (GSBC) is a group of elected students who serve as the voice of graduate students on campus. By serving on committees with faculty, we represent student interests and help in decision-making. An important goal of the GSBC is to keep graduate students informed about new policies regarding their thesis work.  We gain insight from students about changes they would like to see happen at UMass and work hard to implement these changes. One of our major goals is to further relationships between graduate students on campus, in addition to interprofessional relationships with both the medical and nursing students. The GSBC encourages fellow colleagues in their studies, hosting events for first year students during their core coursework. We offer social events throughout the year to foster friendships and support groups and hold local volunteer activities such as Working for Worcester and Habitat for Humanity. We also partner with the Career and Professional Development group and host events for students that help prepare them for their career path of interest.

2018 - 2019 Leadership

Co-Presidents: Kristin Abramo and Anne Carlisle

GSBS Assembly Co-Chairs: Jennifer Moon and Mercedeh Javanbakht Movassagh

Career Development Co-Chairs: Kashfia Neherin and Priya Saikumar Lakshmi

Diversity and Inclusion Co-Chairs: Monika Chitre and Ciearra Smith

Community Service Co-Chairs: Sumeet Nayak and Kristyn Norris

Student Activities Co-Chairs: Brent Horowitz and Joe Magrino

CPHR Representative: Deborah Mack