Page Menu

Population Health Clerkship: Caring for Populations Within Their Communities

 

The Population Health Clerkship (PHC) is a team-based, interprofessional, community engaged experience required of all second year medical and graduate nursing students. Students are placed in small groups directed by academic and community preceptors from a range of professions and disciplines.  Each team’s experience is unique.

 

Social Determinants graphic

 

The overarching goal of the PHC is to provide relevant real-world context as students expand their understanding of public and population health concepts.

PHC Planning Group Contact Information

  • Heather-Lyn Haley PhD, Assistant Professor of Family Medicine and Community Health and Director, Population Health Clerkship; 774-441-6366;
    Heather-Lyn.Haley@umassmed.edu
  • Justin Ayala, Program Coordinator, Undergraduate Medical Education, UMMS-Baystate; Justin.Ayala@umassmed.edu
  • Suzanne Cashman ScD, Professor and Director for Community Health, UMMS; 774-442-2903; Suzanne.Cashman@umassmed.edu
  • Linda Cragin, Director, MassAHEC Network; 508-856-4303;  Linda.Cragin@umassmed.edu
  • Janet Hale  PhD, RN, FNP, Professor and Associate Dean for Interprofessional & Community Partnerships; 508-856-5769; Janet.Hale@umassmed.edu
  • Sarah Perez McAdoo MD MPH, Co-Leader Capstone Scholarship and Discovery Course & Brightwood House Affiliate, UMMS-Baystate; 413-262-5041; Sarah.McAdoo@umassmed.edu
  • Jill M. Terrien PhD, ANP-BC, Associate Professor and Director of Adult-Gerontology, Family &
  • Psych Mental Health  NP Programs, GSN; 508-856-6622; Jill.Terrien@umassmed.edu
  • Jennifer Masoud, Administrator for Population Health Clerkship, Drs. Cashman & Haley;
    774-442-7059; Jennifer.Masoud@umassmemorial.org
Additional Resources
click to open search panel