Search Close Search
Search Close Search
Page Menu

iSPARC Staff Directory

Our staff work in the collaborative, team-based environment at iSPARC and come from a variety of disciplines. They work as researchers, interviewers, statisticians, project directors, program developers, and administrative support. One thing they have in common is a passion for the work they do, with the ultimate goal of improving the lives of people who live with mental illness, their families, and providers. 


  • Jinnia Baiye

    Jinnia Baiye

    Academic Role: Clinical Research Coordinator

    jinnia.baiye@umassmed.edu

    LinkedIn

    Professional Responsibilities: member of the Massachusetts CoE Specialty Courts

  • Josephine Boateng

    Josephine Boateng, MPH

    Academic Role: Research Coordinator

    josephine.boateng@umassmed.edu

    LinkedIn

    Professional Responsibilities: Lifeline for Moms Patient-Centered Outcomes Research Institute Evaluating Lifeline for Moms Study and Network of Perinatal Psychiatry Access Programs.

    Research Interests: Perinatal mental health, Community-based health promotion, Health equity in populations of color, childhood trauma in family systems, mental health access, Infant and maternal health, global health, determinants of health in populations of color  & women’s health

  • Kayla Carew

    Kayla Carew

    Academic Role: Research Coordinator I

    kayla.carew@umassmed.edu

    LinkedIn

    Professional Responsibilities: supports various research in the Law & Psychiatry program

  • Amy Celona

    Amy Celona, B.S.

    Academic Role: Project Manager

    amy.celona@umassmed.edu

    LinkedIn

    Professional Responsibilities: Provide analysis and support for projects, administrative, and general operations for Lifeline for Families

    Research Interests:  Protective factors against the effects of trauma and adverse childhood experiences; the integration of mental health care in primary care settings; building resilience in children and families; equitable access to high-quality, trauma-informed health care.

  • Charles Clark

    Charles Clark

    Academic Role: Research Coordinator II

    charles.clark@umassmed.edu

    LinkedIn

    Professional Responsibilities: member of the Law & Psychiatry program. supports the Program Fidelity Monitor for Intensive Supervision with Treatment Intervention via Community Corrections Centers.

  • Rachel DeCola

    Rachel DeCola

    Academic Role: Project Assistant

    rachel.decola@umassmed.edu

    Professional Responsibilities: Manages the administrative responsibilities for the iSPARC Communications Team. Member of the iSPARC Operations team.

  • Lauren Dutille

    Lauren Dutille

    Academic Role: Grant & Contract Specialist

    lauren.dutille@umassmed.edu

    Professional Responsibilities: Manage contracts, payment vouchers, credit cards, and process travel expense reports.

  • Samantha Fagan

    Samantha Fagan, M.A.

    Academic Role: Clinical Research Coordinator I

    samantha.fagan@umassmed.edu

    LinkedIn

    Professional Responsibilities:

  • Lindsey Ford

    Lindsey Ford

    Academic Role: Research Coordinator II

    lindsey.ford@umassmed.edu

    LinkedIn

    Professional Responsibilities: supporting three studies within the Lifeline for Moms program.

  • Carolyn Friedhoff

    Carolyn Friedhoff, MBE

    Academic Role: Research Coordinator II

    carolyn.friedhoff@umassmed.edu

    LinkedIn

    Professional Responsibilities: Coordinating research to improve care for perinatal patients with mood or substance use disorders, Lifeline for Moms program

    Research Interests: Cross-cultural bioethics, health policy, science education, substance use and addiction medicine, mental health among people who are immigrants or refugees, health equity for populations of color, global health equity, stress-related illnesses, women’s mental health

  • Linda Harrington

    Linda Harrington, B.S.

    Academic Role: Academic Administrator III

    linda.harrington@umassmed.edu

    Professional Responsibilities: Administration of the financial, operational, human resource, and general business functions of iSPARC. Provides information and guidance to faculty for the pre and post-award activity relating to grant management.

  • Samantha Hersh

    Samantha Hersh

    Academic Role: Clinical Research Coordinator I

    samantha.hersh@umassmed.edu

    LinkedIn

    Professional Responsibilities: supports the Learning & Working RRTC Directed Training Program and Helping Youth on the Path to Employment (HYPE), at Transitions ACR

  • Nancy Hu

    Nancy Hu

    Academic Role: Clinical Research Coordinator III

    nancy.hu@umassmed.edu

    LinkedIn

    Professional Responsibilities: Supporting recruitment on JASPR and EA Avatar projects, testing the feasibility of study interventions in the context of the ED

    Research interests: psychosocial factors contributing to suicide risk, suicide interventions, use of real-time monitoring methods for determining suicide risk

  • Maya Ingram

    Maya Ingram, B.A.

    Academic Role: Research Project Director

    maya.ingram@umassmed.edu

    LinkedIn

    Professional Responsibilities: directs the HYPE, HYPE Anthem, and FSST at Work projects at Transitions ACR

    Research Interests: Young adult social-emotional learning and mental health services; comparative race and ethnic studies; intersectionality in mental health care for BIPOC, LGBTQ+, and other marginalized groups.

  • Kayleigh Izzo

    Kayleigh Izzo

    Academic Role: Clinical Research Assistant

    kayleigh.izzo@umassmed.edu

    LinkedIn

    Professional Responsibilities: 

  • Robyn Leonard

    Robyn Leonard, B.S.

    Academic Role: Administrative Assistant II

    robyn.leonard@umassmed.edu

    LinkedIn

    Professional Responsibilities: Supports Nancy Byatt, DO, MS, MBA, DFAPA, FACLP, and Lifeline for Families Center Lifeline for Moms Program

  • Jonathan Lerew

    Jonathan Lerew

    Academic Role: Project Coordinator

    jonathan.lerew@umassmed.edu

    LinkedIn

    Professional Responsibilities: graphic designer for the Communications Team. Member of the CP RRTC project.

  • Deirdre Logan

    Deirdre Logan, B.A.

    Academic Role: Project Manager III

    deirdre.logan@umassmed.edu

    Professional Responsibilities: Responsible for the completion of all iSPARC Communications activities, L&W RRTC TA, Training, and Dissemination activities, CP RRTC Dissemination activities.

    Research Interests: Dissemination and presentation of research findings and materials, Informed Consent, research ethics, and youth, young adult, and family mental health.

  • Fredrick Mann

    Fredrick Mann

    Academic Role: Research Program Manager I

    fredrick.mann1@umassmed.edu

    Professional Responsibilities: supports projects with the Massachusetts Center of Excellence for Specialty Courts and Law & Psychiatry Research

  • Melissa Maslin

    Melissa Maslin, MEd

    Academic Role: Senior Project Director

    melissa.maslin@umassmed.edu

    LinkedIn

    Professional Responsibilities: Operations Director for Lifeline for Families and directs consultation services Network of Perinatal Psychiatry Access Programs, Lifeline for Moms

    Research interests: Integration of mental health and obstetric care, perinatal mental health and substance use concerns, community-based health promotion, developmental disabilities, online course development

  • Felicia McGinnis

    Felicia McGinnis

    Academic Role: Clinical Research Coordinator II

    felicia.mcginnis@umassmed.edu

    LinkedIn

    Professional Responsibilities: supports the coordination of the Signs of Safety clinical trial at DeafYES! Center for Deaf Empowerment and Recovery

  • Noriasha Mensah

    Noriasha Mensah

    Academic Role: Project Manager I

    noriasha.mensah@umassmed.edu

    Professional Responsibilities: supports the Central MA Tobacco-Free Community Partnership (TFCP) program

  • Kayla Meza

    Kayla Meza

    Academic Role: Senior Clinical Research Coordinator

    kayla.meza@umassmed.edu

    LinkedIn

    Professional responsibilities: Supports Co-Investigators Dr. Melissa Anderson and Dr. Alexander Wilkins on the Signs of Safety R01 RCT at Deaf YES! Center for Deaf Empowerment and Recovery

  • Vanessa Mitchell-Wagner

    Vanessa Mitchell-Wagner

    Academic Role: Training Coordinator

    vanessa.mitchellwagner@umassmed.edu

    Professional Responsibilities: trainer for the FSST and HYPE on Campus programs, Learning & Working RRTC at Transitions ACR

  • Elena Munzell

    Elena Munzell

    Academic Role: Research Coordinator I

    elena.munzell@umassmed.edu

    Professional Responsibilities: supports projects with the Massachusetts Center of Excellence for Specialty Courts and Law & Psychiatry Research

  • Emma Narkewicz

    Emma Narkewicz, M.P.A.

    Academic Role: Clinical Research Coordinator III

    emma.narkewicz@umassmed.edu

    LinkedIn

    Professional Responsibilities: supports various projects on the Learning & Working RRTC, Transitions ACR

    Research Interests: Improving education and employment outcomes for young adults with mental health conditions and disabilities, Social policy, Health equity for BIPOC and LGBTQ+ populations, Sexual violence, Community-engaged public health

  • Tracy Neville

    Tracy Neville, B.A.

    Academic Role: Research Coordinator II

    tracy.neville@umassmed.edu

    LinkedIn

    Professional Responsibilities: supports various research projects for Transitions ACR; co-facilitates the Young Adult Advisory Board

  • Debbie Nicolellis

    Debbie Nicolellis, MS, CRC, CPRP

    Academic Role: Training Director

    debbie.nicolellis@umassmed.edu

    LinkedIn

    Professional Responsibilities: Learning & Working RRTC Directed Training Program and Helping Youth on the Path to Employment (HYPE) at Transitions ACR

  • Hanaan Osman

    Hanaan Osman

    Academic Role: Clinical Research Coordinator

    hanaan.osman@umassmed.edu

    LinkedIn

    Professional Responsibilities: 

  • Mei Pearlstein

    Mei Pearlstein

    Academic Role: Research Coordinator I

    mei.pearlstein@umassmed.edu

    LinkedIn

    Professional Responsibilities: S.T.A.Y. Tuned Podcast co-host. Supports various Learning & Working RRTC projects at Transitions ACR

  • Jennifer Pendleton

    Jennifer Pendleton

    Academic Role: Research Coordinator I

    jennifer.pendleton1@umassmed.edu

    LinkedIn

    Professional Responsibilities: member of the Law & Psychiatry program

  • Valerie Perkoski

    Valerie Perkoski, MS, RD, CDN, Ph.D. Candidate

    Academic Role: Implementation Specialist

    valerie.perkoski@umassmed.edu

    LinkedIn

    Professional Responsibilities: Manages the iSPARC Technical Assistance Program

  • Mary Ann Preskul-Ricca

    Mary Ann Preskul-Ricca, M.P.P.

    Academic Role: Consultant

    maryann.preskulricca@umassmed.edu

    LinkedIn

    Professional Responsibilities: contractor for the technical assistance and consultation program

  • Mary Quill

    Mary Quill, A.A, A.S.

    Academic Role: Research Assistant

    mary.quill2@umassmed.edu

    Professional Responsibilities: member of the Stakeholder Engagement program. Past Chair of MHE & YOU Advisory Council

    Research Interests: Rehabilitation, clubhouses, the consumer movement, and consumers in research.

  • Morgan Rao

    Morgan Rao, B.A.

    Academic Role: Research Coordinator II

    morgan.rao@umassmed.edu

    Professional responsibilities: supports CeKTER and Law and Psychiatry research projects

    Research Interests: personality in psychology and psychopathology

  • Karlie Rice

    Karlie Rice, M.A.

    Academic Role: Research Coordinator lI

    karlie.rice@umassmed.edu

    LinkedIn

    Professional Responsibilities: supports various research within the Law and psychiatry program

    Research Interests: juvenile justice, risk assessments, and examining youth's strengths

  • Kristen Roy-Bujnowski

    Kristen Roy-Bujnowski, M.A.

    Academic Role: Research Program Manager II

    kristen.roy-bujnowski@umassmed.edu

    LinkedIn

    Professional responsibilities: Project director for the CP RRTC at Transitions ACR

    Research interests: The intersection of the criminal justice and mental health systems; Race, gender, and class disparities in the criminal justice system; physical health disparities and mental illness, program implementation & evaluation, and suicide prevention.

  • Padma Sankaran

    Padma Sankaran, M.A.

    Academic Role: Research Project Director

    padma.sankaran@umassmed.edu

    Professional responsibilities: directs various research at the Lifeline for Moms program

    Research Interests: Clinical and community-based mental health research, a holistic approach to mental health wellness, research ethics, healthcare equity, and Women's health.

  • Paula Silverman

    Paula Silverman

    Academic Role: Sr. Research Program Manager/Operations Director

    paula.silverman@umassmed.edu

    LinkedIn

    Professional Responsibilities: Manages iSPARC Operations Team

  • Gillian Simons

    Gillian Simons

    Academic Role: Research Assistant Technician

    gillian.simons@umassmed.edu

    LinkedIn

    Professional Responsibilities: Member of the Communications Team. Provides project support for the Learning & Working RRTC and CP RRTC. 

    Research Interests: Young adult consumer advocacy, integration of physical and behavioral health, mental health policy/system changes, education, and employment of young adults with mental health conditions.

  • Holly St. Jean

    Holly St. Jean

    Academic Role: Project Manager I

    holly.st.jean@umassmed.edu

    LinkedIn

    Professional Responsibilities: Operational management and TA for iSPARC and Transitions ACR

  • Lindsey Stevens

    Lindsey Stevens

    Academic Role: Clinical Research Coordinator II

    lindsey.stevens@umassmed.edu

    LinkedIn

    Professional Responsibilities: supports various projects in the Law & Psychiatry program

  • Emily Sudbrock

    Emily Sudbrock, M.A.

    Academic Role: Project Assistant

    emily.sudbrock@umassmed.edu

    LinkedIn

    Professional Responsibilities: Member of the Communications Team. Supports the RRTC Toolkit and Comic, S.T.A.Y. Tuned Podcast co-host, Stakeholder Engagement Program, and HYPE DTP/T4 projects.

  • Robin Tasca

    Robin Tasca, B.A.

    Academic Role: Communication Specialist

    robin.tasca@umassmed.edu

    LinkedIn

    Professional Responsibilities: multimedia content producer for the iSPARC Communications Team. Manages the websites for iSPARC, CeKTER, HYPE, Law & Psychiatry, and Transitions ACR. Provides backup support for digital marketing. Liaison to the UMass Chan Office of Communications (OOC).

  • Amy J. Thornton

    Amy J. Thornton, B.S.

    Academic Role: Project Manager I

    amy.thornton@umassmed.edu

    LinkedIn

    Professional Responsibilities: Supporting faculty and staff in the Law & Psychiatry Department and Center of Excellence for Specialty Courts Project

  • Jean Wnuk

    Jean Wnuk, M.B.A.

    Academic Role: Digital/Social Media Manager

    jean.wnuk@umassmed.edu

    LinkedIn

    Professional Responsibilities: Member of the Communications Team. Manages our social media platforms and communications channels for CeKTER, iSPARC, and Transitions ACR