UMW Student Governance

Student Government Alliance (SGA)

Established in 2011, the UMMS Student Government Alliance (SGA) is the overarching student governance body. The SGA consists of the two elected officials from each school’s student governance group and the student trustee. The SGA promotes student communication and collaboration across the three schools, and serves as a resource for communicating and working with campus administration. The SGA provides representation for students across the three schools on Faculty Council and Executive Council and other campus-wide governing bodies and committees. The SGA reports to the Provost, and addresses matters of importance to students and submits recommendations expressing student views and concerns to administration (Provost). The SGA oversees the campus student trustee election process. The SGA has a faculty advisor appointed by the Provost and in accordance with their bylaws, the Provost meets with the SGA at least once per semester (fall and spring). [link to SGA governance doc]



SGA Representatives, 2017-2018

School of Medicine (SOM)

    •Askshay Kapoor, Co-President SOM Student Body Commitee
    •Kurt Schultz, Co-President SOM Student Body Commitee

Graduate School of Nursing (GSN)
    • Stephanie DiTommaso, President for GSN Student Body
    • Rebeccca LaMay, Vice President for GSN Student Body

Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences (GSBS)
    • Kristen Abramo, President for GSBS Student Body
    • Devyn Oliver, Vice President for GSBS Student body

Student Trustee
    • Camilla Yu, SOM

Faculty Advisor

    •  Kendall Knight, Ph.D., Associate Dean Basic Biomedical Sciences