Lab Members

Principal Investigator
Victor Ambros, PhD
Silverman Professor of Natural Sciences,
Program in Molecular Medicine      
       
Ambros CV

victor.ambros@umassmed.edu
(508) 856-6380

UMass Program in Molecular Medicine

Lee_Rosalind

Senior Scientist
Rosalind Lee, BS
Program in Molecular Medicine

rosalind.lee@umassmed.edu
(508) 856-6382

 

Administrative
Assistant

Joan M. Lynch


Joan.lynch@umassmed.edu
(508) 856-5723

 


Current Members

Sungwook Choi

Sungwook Choi
Graduate Student

Program in Molecular Medicine
sungwook.choi@umassmed.edu
(508) 856-5723

I got my Bachelors degree at POSTECH and Masters Degree at SNU, Korea. I joined the Ambros lab as a graduate student in the year of 2011 and currently am interested in diverse functions of LIN-28 in C. elegans.

   

Ye (Oscar) Duan
Graduate Student

Program in Molecular Medicine
ye.duan@umassmed.edu
(508) 856-5723

I received my Bachelor’s degrees in Chemistry and Biology and my Master’s degree in Biochemistry and Molecular Biology from Jilin University, China. I am interested in the functional specificity of let-7 family microRNAs.

     
 

Dona Hirosha Geekiyanage, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow  

Program in Molecular Medicine
hirosha.geekiyanage@umassmed.edu
(508) 856-5723

I received my PhD in Genetics from Michigan State University. I have previously studied miRNA regulation in Alzheimer’s disease and measles virus in respect to glioblastoma. I am currently studying circulating miRNAs in blood plasma and CSF.

  /uploadedImages/Ambros_Lab/100_1321.JPG

Orkan Ilbay
Graduate Student

Program in Molecular Medicine
orkan.ilbay@umassmed.edu
(508) 856-5723

I received my Bachelor's degree from Middle East Technical University in Turkey.  I am interested in genes that control temporal patterns of development in C. elegans.

 

Zeynep Mirza
Graduate Student

Program in Molecular Medicine Zeynep.Mirza@umassmed.edu
(508) 856-5723

 

 

Charles Nelson, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow

Program in Molecular Medicine charles.nelson@umassmed.edu
(508) 856-5723

I received my Ph.D. in Biomedical Sciences from The University of Massachusetts Medical School in the laboratory of Eric H. Baehrecke. I am currently interested in how microRNAs help confer biological robustness during animal development.

    
 

Alejandro Vasquez Rifo, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow

Program in Molecular Medicine alejandro.vasquezrifo@umassmed.edu
(508) 856-5723

I received my Ph.D. in Molecular and Cellular Biology from Laval University.