Search Close Search
Search Close Search
Page Menu

Ceremony guests and honorary degrees

Distinguished guests - 2024 Commencement

          Gov. Maura T. Healey

Massachusetts Gov. Maura Healey will deliver the Commencement address and receive a Chancellor’s Medal at UMass Chan Medical School on Sunday, June 2, as UMass Chan celebrates the accomplishments of the Class of 2024 at its 51st Commencement.

Ann Kurth, PhD, RN, MPH, president of the New York Academy of Medicine, and Frederick “Rick” Sontag, MS, MBA, co-founder and president of the Sontag Foundation, the Spring-Bay Companies and the Brain Tumor Network will, upon recommendation by the University’s Board of Trustees, receive honorary degrees. Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus, PhD, director general of the World Health Organization, will also receive an honorary degree and deliver the keynote address Friday, June 7, at 11 a.m. when UMass Chan celebrates the opening of the new education and research building. Learn more here.