Search Close Search
Search Close Search
Page Menu

Acute and Chronic Pain Medicine

PavaoWelcome to the Division of Pain Medicine within the Department of Anesthesiology & Perioperative Medicine at UMass Chan Medical School. In collaboration with our clinical partner UMass Memorial Health, our division is comprised of our outpatient Center for Pain Medicine as well as our inpatient regional anesthesiology and Acute Pain Consult Services.  Our providers work in collaboration with members of the UMass Memorial Community Medical Group, inpatient hospital medicine teams and various surgical subspecialties to treat a wide variety of painful conditions.

Residents within the department rotate through each of these services throughout the CA-1, CA-2 and CA-3 years.  Residents in their CA-3 year may also perform an elective rotation in chronic pain medicine and regional anesthesia/acute pain medicine.  We also offer customized elective rotations for members of other ACGME accredited residency and fellowship programs within UMass Chan Medical School and UMass Memorial Health, who have a special interest in pain medicine.

Our commitment to education also involves undergraduate medical education.  Medical students have an opportunity to perform a week-long elective rotation in pain medicine as part of the flexible clinical experience.  This rotation provides medical students with exposure to patients with various painful conditions early in their clinical training.  Fourth-year medical students may elect to perform a four-week rotation in chronic and/or regional anesthesia/acute pain medicine.  These elective rotations can be tailored to meet the particular clinical interests of each student.

The Division of Pain Medicine is actively involved in multiple quality improvement projects sponsored by UMass Chan Medical School and UMass Memorial Medical Center.  These projects emphasize the use of Lean Principles to improve the quality and safety of care that we provide to our patients.

- Richard Pavao, MD, director of the Division of Pain Medicine

Division of Pain Medicine Team

Gustavo Angaramo, MD
Masilo Grant, MD
Gordon Novak, MD
M. Richard Pavao, MD
Robert Ian Richmond, MD
Pascal Scemama De Gialluly, MD, MBA
Zafar Siddiqui, MBBS