Search Close Search
Search Close Search
Page Menu

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Committee

Psychiatry Department Diversity Statement: The UMass Department of Psychiatry is committed to providing an inclusive, respectful environment for its employees, leaders, and the communities we serve. Our diverse experiences, backgrounds, knowledge, and beliefs help us grow, innovate, and provide quality care to our patients.

The Department of Psychiatry Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion committee aims to continuously assess our work environment, recruitment, delivery of care, research practices, and educational content to ensure we are promoting just, equitable, culturally sensitive, and patient-centered mental healthcare and institutional culture. The committee shall represent the voices of trainees, staff, faculty, and the department’s leadership.

We will advocate to raise awareness of these issues to the department leadership and aid in the culture change.

Our ultimate goal is to embed an equity lens in the work we do and who we are as a department.

  • Education: developing innovative lectures and workshops that educate on topics of anti-racism, social justice, and health inequities.
  • Advocacy: becoming involved with opportunities to advocate for our underrepresented minority and lower socioeconomic status patients.
  • Recruitment: enhancing efforts to recruit underrepresented minority residents (URM) and teaching faculty.
  • Resident Experience: ensuring that URM residents feel safe and respected in their training environment.
  • Patient Experience: assessing and addressing health inequities seen at our clinical sites

Group Members

Auralyd Padilla Candelario, MD, Chair

Margarita Abi Zeid Daou, MD
Jeffrey Burl, Ph.
Robert Carey, Ph.D.
Ayorkor Gaba, Psy.D.
Madelyn Hicks, M.D.
Marie Hobart, M.D.

Megan Kelly, Ph.D.
Yashira Oropeza Dias, Psy.D., MSCP, LMHC
Caridad Ponce Martinez, M.D.
Abita Raj, M.D.
Mallory Shelly, B.S.