Campus alert status is orange: For the latest campus alert status, news and resources, visit

Search Close Search
Search Close Search
Page Menu

Morningside Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences Awards for Scholarship, Education, and Community Service

Zelda Haidak Award

The Zelda Haidak Scholarship in Cell Biology was established by the late Dr. Gerald Haidak, UMass Chan Professor of Surgery and Cell Biology, to honor his beloved wife Zelda.  The purpose of the scholarship is to provide support for female trainees who are initiating research careers in cell biology.  The endowment provides a modest award of a few thousand dollars for the awardee to use to complement and enhance her training. 

See previous winners of the Zelda Haidak Award

Dan Mullen Award for Scientific Achievement 

Given for excellence in poster preparation and presentation at the Annual Basic Science Research Retreat.

See previous winners of the Dan Mullen Award for Scientific Achievement

Riccio Award

Through the generosity of Mr. Dan Riccio and Morningside Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences alum, Dr. Diane Riccio, we are fortunate to be able to recognize Morningside Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences students with an award for participation in a scientific conference. The award shall be used to provide a differentiating research dissemination opportunity.

This is a merit award to recognize a student who has excelled in graduate study. However, in order to have maximum impact in alignment with the intent of the donors, we hope that the award will be used to catalyze opportunities that are out of the ordinary. This would include attendance at a meeting that is not regularly attended by the members of the student’s thesis lab, attendance at an international meeting, or attendance at any scientific meeting which provides a unique opportunity for the awardee. The applicants will be asked to explain the significance of the meeting for their career, and the Awards and Recognition committee will consider this along with the applicant’s record of accomplishment.

See previous winners of the Riccio Award