UMMS Self-Study Task Force

The centerpiece of the accreditation process is an institutional self-study which will be overseen by a task force, charged by the dean, collectively representing the broad range of stakeholders and key constituencies for our educational program leading to the MD degree. The Self-study Task Force will include individuals spanning the spectrum of our diverse educational community, representing faculty, students, staff, administration, community affiliates, trustees, residents and alumni.

In overseeing our self-study, the Task Force and its subcommittees will comprehensively review, analyze and assess our medical education program, with the goal of defining our institutional strengths as well as opportunities for improvement and further development. As specified by the LCME: “The task force will synthesize its individual subcommittee reports into a final self-study summary report that includes a statement of institutional strengths and issues that require attention, either to ensure future compliance with accreditation standards or to improve programmatic quality.” The Task Force self-study summary report will be broadly disseminated across our UMMS educational community and submitted to the LCME. 

Task Force Subcommittees

Institutional Setting
Education Program
Medical Students
Educational Resources
Integrating CTS into Education

Task Force Leaders


Name Position
Terence Flotte, MD* Dean, Provost and Executive Deputy Chancellor, Task Force Chair
Michele Pugnaire, MD* Senior Associate Dean for Educational Affairs, LCME Project Director and Self-Study Coordinator
Jeroan Allison, MD Associate Vice Provost for Health Disparities
Robert Baldor, MD EPC Chair, Director, Community-Based Education
Martin Broder, MD Associate Dean, Medical Education, Berkshire Medical Center
Anthony Carruthers, PhD Dean, Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences
Deborah DeMarco, MD Senior Associate Dean, Clinical Affairs
Octavio Diaz, MD, MPH Associate Dean, Medical Education, Saint Vincent Hospital
Eric Dickson, MD Senior Associate Dean, UMass Medical Group; Interim President, UMass Memorial Medical Group
Melissa Fischer, MD, MEd+ Associate Dean, Undergraduate Medical Education
Caitlin Fogarty MD/PhD candidate, 1st Year Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences Student
Susan Gagliardi, PhD Professor of Cell Biology and Neurology
David Harlan, MD Director, Diabetes and Endocrinology Research Center
Deborah Harmon Hines, PhD Vice Provost, School Services
Christina Hernon, MD Assistant Professor of Emergency Medicine
Robert Jenal* Vice Chancellor, Administration and Finance
Julia Johnson, MD Chair and Professor of Obstetrics & Gynecology
Julie Jonassen, PhD Professor of Physiology
Thomas Kramer 3rd Year Medical Student
Michael Kneeland, MD, MPH*+ Associate Dean, Allied Health and Interprofessional Education
Anne Larkin, MD Associate Professor of Surgery
Daniel Lasser, MD, MPH Chair and Professor of Family Medicine & Community Health
Mitchell Li 2nd Year Medical Student
Elaine Martin, DA Director, Library Services
Robert Matthews, PhD Chair and Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Pharmacology
Bharath Nath MD/PhD candidate, 4th Year Medical Student
R. Norman Peters University of Massachusetts Trustee
Deborah Plummer, PhD Associate Vice Chancellor, Diversity and Equal Opportunity
Jaime Rivera, PhD Assistant Professor of Cell Biology
Mai-Lan Rogoff, MD+ Associate Dean, Student Affairs
Noah Rosenberg 3rd Year Medical Student
Alice Shakman Vice President, Operations, UMass Memorial Medical Center
Rebecca Spanagel, MD Assistant Professor of Clinical Medicine, Site Director, Medicine Clerkship
Gyongyi Szabo, MD, PhD Associate Dean, Clinical & Translational Sciences Division
Dawn Tasillo, MD Assistant Professor of Obstetrics & Gynecology
Luanne Thorndyke, MD*+ Vice Provost, Faculty Affairs
Robert Weinstein, MD Professor of Medicine, Chair of Faculty Council
Cara Weismann 4th Year Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences Student
Robyn Wing, MD PGY2, Pediatrics
Ralph Zottola, PhD Associate Chief Information Officer, Research Computing Services

* Indicates member of LCME 2012 Accreditation Oversight Committee
+ Indicates LCME 2012 Database Section Leader

▴ Back To Top
Section Menu To Top