Share this story

Updated travel policy related to COVID-19 in the US and abroad (July 2)

This week, Governor Baker amended the 14-day quarantine policy for all travelers and returning residents of Massachusetts to exempt the need for quarantine from Rhode Island, Connecticut, Vermont, New Hampshire, Maine, New York and New Jersey. Our travel policy similarly will now eliminate the need for quarantine from these states.

We continue to monitor COVID-19 prevalence across the United States. The number of states considered to be high risk for COVID transmission* has increased to 16 and are generally in the South and Southwestern areas of the United States.

Our travel policies pertain to UMMS employees currently working on campus; employees returning to work; new hires; and vendors. This includes international travel for which the US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) recommends a 14-day quarantine, with no healthcare worker exemption. International travel is highly discouraged. For those who do travel internationally, be aware that foreign nationals who have been in many regions and countries in the previous 14 days (e.g. Europe, China, Brazil) may not enter the United States. All travelers should continue to monitor the UMMS Travel Policy web page; state and territorial health department websites; and the CDC website prior to and during travel, as policies continue to rapidly change.

Policy changes pertaining to UMMS-sponsored and personal travel are highlighted below:

  • Travel policies are in effect for UMMS employees currently working on campus, individuals returning to work, new hires, and vendors.
  • Employees (on campus, returning, new hires) and vendors who travel or return to Massachusetts from New England, New York or New Jersey are exempt from the 14-day quarantine.
  • International travel is highly discouraged at the present time. International travelers will need to quarantine for 14 days with no healthcare worker exemption.
  • Badge access to UMMS Worcester Campus buildings will be de-activated (or limited to clinical areas for those who work in clinical settings) for the duration of the quarantine period for those who are required to quarantine.
  • Any personal travel outside of New England must be reported in advance of travel using this form.

*Determination of ‘high risk’ will be performed weekly and will take into account the COVID positive test rate reported by each state as well as other measures of transmission of the virus within the state. Due to the nature of COVID-19 epidemiology, designation as ‘high risk’ will likely change frequently. As of today, these states include Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, California, Florida, Georgia, Iowa, Idaho, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, Nevada, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, and Utah. This information will be updated regularly on the coronavirus website.