For the latest COVID-19 campus news and resources, visit

Search Close Search


Educational Recognition Awards on April 25 celebrate teaching, mentorship

Janet Hale will deliver Last Lecture, ‘Bloom where you are planted: My path to UMMS’

UMass Medical School Communications

April 23, 2019
Janet Hale receives the
Chancellor’s Medal for Distinguished Teaching
from Chancellor Collins at the 2018 Convocation ceremony.

The 21st annual UMass Medical School Educational Recognition Awards ceremony is taking place on Thursday, April 25, in the Albert Sherman Center Auditorium beginning at 4 p.m. All members of the UMMS community are invited to celebrate excellence in teaching and mentorship with the 19 award winners (see list below), including the recipient of the 2019 Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Mentoring, to be announced by Chancellor Michael F. Collins at the event.

As the recipient of the 2018 Chancellor’s Distinguished Medal for Teaching, Janet Hale, PhD, RN, FNP, professor of nursing and family medicine & community health and associate dean for interprofessional and community partnerships in the Graduate School of Nursing, will deliver the Last Lecture following the awards presentation. The winner of this medal is granted the University of Massachusetts Manning Prize for Excellence in Teaching, which honors one outstanding faculty member from each of the five UMass campuses.

In her lecture, “Bloom where you are planted: My path to UMMS,” Dr. Hale will trace her journey from military nursing to becoming a nationally recognized leader in nursing education. She is retired from the U.S. Army Reserves. Throughout her career, she has focused on developing interprofessional education initiatives in which medical and graduate nursing students work side by side caring for medically underserved patients and populations in primary care and community health settings.

A reception will follow the awards ceremony and lecture at 6 p.m.

The 2019 Educational Recognition Awards

Graduate School of Nursing

Dean’s Award
Donna Perry, PhD, RN

Distinguished Faculty Awards
Mary Anne Fischer, PhD, WHNP-BC
Jean Boucher, PhD, RN, ANP-BC
Donna Perry, PhD, RN

Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences

Faculty Awards
Christine Ulbricht, PhD
Jill Zitzewitz, PhD
Craig Ceol, PhD
Dorothy Schafer, PhD
Elisa Donnard, PhD
Sharina Person, PhD

School of Medicine

Outstanding Medical Educator Awards
Kate Daniello, MD
Susan B. Gagliardi, PhD

Educational Achievement (Star) Awards
Linda Cragin, MS

2018-2019 DSF Course Directors Team
Christopher Cerniglia, DO
Manas Das, MD
Lela Giannaris, PhD
Julie Jonassen, PhD

Resident/Fellow Award
Veronica Torres, MD

Dean’s Award: Lamar Soutter Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Medical Education
Christine Woolf, PhD

Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Mentoring
Recipient will be announced at the event

Related stories on UMassMedNow:
New medical and nursing course aims to improve care of military members and veterans
Hale and Cragin honored for focus on veterans health