Campus Alert: Find the latest UMMS campus news and resources at

Search Close Search


Inaugural Williams Scholars announced at UMMS

UMass Medical School Communications

October 01, 2018
Timothy Kowalik, PhD Stephenie Lemon, PhD David McManus, MD Susan Sullivan-Bolyai, DNSc, MN, RN

Timothy Kowalik, PhD

Stephenie Lemon, PhD

David McManus, MD

Susan Sullivan-Bolyai, DNSc, MN, RN


For nearly a quarter century, Marcellette G. Williams, PhD, has served the University of Massachusetts as an institutional leader and champion of academic excellence in her roles as chancellor at UMass Amherst (2001-2002) and currently as vice president and senior executive fellow for global strategy for the university system.

In her honor, UMass Medical School is recognizing outstanding mid-career faculty whose contributions have reached the level of national distinction by designating these outstanding individuals as Dr. Marcellette G. Williams Distinguished Scholars, according to an announcement from Michael F. Collins, MD, chancellor, and Terence R. Flotte, MD, the Celia and Isaac Haidak Professor of Medical Education, executive deputy chancellor, provost and dean of the School of Medicine.

The inaugural Williams Scholars at UMMS are:

      • Timothy Kowalik, PhD, professor of microbiology & physiological systems;
      • Stephenie Lemon, PhD, professor of quantitative health sciences and medicine, and chief of the Division of Preventive and Behavioral Medicine;
      • David McManus, MD, associate professor of medicine in the Division of Cardiovascular Medicine and associate professor of quantitative health sciences; and
      • Susan Sullivan-Bolyai, DNSc, MN, RN, professor in the Graduate School of Nursing.

Each of these esteemed faculty has been selected based on his or her distinguished track record of scholarly productivity, as well as actual and anticipated future impact and innovation in research. Preference is given to candidates whose work is multidisciplinary, interdisciplinary or interprofessional. Williams Scholars will receive $60,000 in annual funding for five years to be spent flexibly in support of their academic program.