Share this story

GSBS celebrates student achievement

The Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences Celebration of Student Achievement, now in its third year, has become a welcome tradition in the week preceding Commencement each year. It is an opportunity for faculty, mentors and members of the leadership team, including GSBS Dean Anthony Carruthers and Chancellor Michael F. Collins, to honor students for academic achievement, mentoring, service and scholarship, and an opportunity for members of the biomedical research community to gather together and reflect on the conclusion of another academic year.

The following awards were presented:

Chancellor’s Award:
Keith Romano

Class Speaker:
Jeanette Osterloh

Curriculum Achievement Award:
Gen Zhang for basic and biomedical sciences, Jill Moore for basic and biomedical sciences, and Jacob Schrum for MD/PhD program

Outstanding Mentoring Award:
Aditya Venkatesh for mentoring in a lab setting, Artem Kutikov for mentoring in a lab setting and Lauren Clancy for mentoring in a classroom setting

Recognition of Student Community Service:
Cara Weismann and Sally Trabucco

Dean’s Award for the Most Insightful Mid-theses Research:
Hsiuyi Chen (mentor: Oliver Rando, PhD) and Vahbiz Jokhi (mentor Vivian Budnik, PhD)

Dean’s Award for Most Insightful Doctoral Thesis Research:
Christopher Burke (mentor: Scott Waddell, PhD) and Liang-Meng Wee (mentor: Phillip Zamore, PhD)