Share this story

Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society at UMass Chan Medical School welcomes new members


UMass Chan Medical School welcomed 36 T.H. Chan School of Medicine students into the Delta chapter of the Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society during an induction ceremony on Wednesday, Oct. 20.

Terence R. Flotte, MD, the Celia and Isaac Haidak Professor, executive deputy chancellor, provost and dean of the Chan School of Medicine, is the chapter’s councilor. During his welcoming remarks, Dean Flotte said this year’s students were elected under the notion that educational attainment is important, but achievement in other domains is as well. A holistic review process was used through benchmarks of achievement, professionalism, humanism, equity and inclusion to select the inductees.

He told the class he was humbled by what the students have accomplished so far and what they will continue to do in the future.

“You are the most worthy to serve the most suffering people in the most varied ways,” he said.

Anne Garrison, MD, assistant professor of obstetrics & gynecology and associate dean for student affairs, described the accomplishments of each of the student inductees as she read their names.

“AOA recognizes excellence in academics and these students with us today have indeed excelled and are worthy to serve the suffering,” Dr. Garrison said.

Fourteen house staff (residents and fellows) and one alumnus were also inducted. Jane Lochrie, MD, professor of medicine, received the Community Physician Award and Chancellor Michael F. Collins offered closing remarks.

Since 1902, the Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society has promoted scholarship and research in medical schools; encouraged a high standard of conduct among medical students and graduates; and recognized high achievement in medical science, patient care and related fields.

The 2022 AOA inductees are:

Alec Allain
Holly Neale
Deirdre Buckley
Olivia Nuelle
Deniz Cataltepe
Rachel Padilla
Richa Chhaya
Alexandra Palmer
Nolan Condron
Ryan Payne
Katherine Cooper
Alexandra Rabin
Amberly Diep
Kimberly Reimold
Kelly Flanagan
Shauna Rice
Alec Gramann
Haley Schachter
Kathryn Hiller
Alexander Schryver
Rosemary Kelley
Julia Sherman
Collin Leibold
Jordan Smith
Mark Liu
Emily Stabnick
Gabrielle Luiselli
Hannah Swartz
Katherine Lynch
Simone Thibault
Peter Makhoul
Charlotte Walmsley
Arden Marin
Lindsay Walsh
Benjamin Maxner
Timothy Winn

House staff
Alison Asirwatham, MD
Robert McLoughlin, MD
Katherine Bakke, MD
Eric Morgan, MD
Sara Bou Nader, MD
Catherine Norise, MD
Or Bruck, DO
Efaza Siddiqui, MD
Adriana Chou, MD
Harun Thimmiah, MD
Brian Jao, MD
Courtney Tolliday, MD
Jorge Lujan Hernandez, MD
Yara Younan, MD

Marina Rodriguez, MD