For the latest COVID-19 campus news and resources, visit

Buscar Close Search


New UMMS members inducted into Alpha Omega Alpha Medical Honor Society

AOA Delta Massachusetts Chapter induction ceremony held on Nov. 20.

By Sandra Gray

UMass Medical School Communications

noviembre 22, 2019
  • Anna Klouda, SOM ’20, is inducted by Dean Flotte and Dr. Chimienti.
  • MD/PhD candidate Ashley Matthew is inducted into Alpha Omega Alpha.
  • Alumna and faculty member Olga Valdman, MD, is congratulated by Dean Flotte.
  • Surgery resident Jonathan Green, MD, (right) is one of three residents inducted by Dean Flotte.

Twenty-three medical students in the School of Medicine Class of 2020, four faculty members, six house staff and three alumni were inducted into the Alpha Omega Alpha Medical Honor Society. The induction ceremony was held at UMass Medical School on Wednesday, Nov. 20.

The inductees were welcomed to the society by Terence R. Flotte, MD, the Celia and Isaac Haidak Professor of Medical Education, executive deputy chancellor, provost and dean of the School of Medicine and councilor of the AOA Delta Massachusetts Chapter at UMMS. Sonia Chimienti, MD, associate professor of medicine, associate dean for student affairs and vice provost for student life and enrollment, presented the student inductees. Dean Flotte presented the faculty, house staff and alumni inductees. Anne Larkin, MD, associate professor of surgery and senior associate dean for educational affairs, presented the Community Physician Award to Stephen Brooks, MD, assistant professor of surgery.

The criteria for nomination include scholastic achievement, demonstrated professionalism, leadership capabilities, adherence to ethical standards, fairness in dealing with colleagues, achievement in medicine and/or research, and a record of service to school and community.

Since 1902, the Alpha Omega Alpha Medical Honor Society has promoted scholarship and research in medical schools; encouraged a high standard of conduct among medical students and graduates; and recognized high achievement in medical science, patient care and related fields. The Delta Massachusetts Chapter at UMMS is one of 146 AOA chapters nationwide.

Chancellor Michael F. Collins, in closing remarks, congratulated the inductees and encouraged them to continue their trajectories of achievement.

Students, Class of 2020

  • Emma Albert-Stone
  • Mary Awad
  • Nima Azimi
  • Emily Berner
  • Thomas Carroll
  • Lauren Colwell
  • Hannah Duehren
  • Colleen Flanagan
  • Alanna   Hickey
  • Amanda Karampatsos
  • Danielle Kerrigan
  • Anna Klouda
  • Maxwell Lloyd
  • Tyler Lueck
  • Emma Materne
  • Ashley Matthew
  • Ciarra Nickerson
  • Janki Patel
  • Elisabet Qendro
  • Lily Rabinow
  • Cesar Rodriguez
  • Brian Tashjian
  • Elizabeth Tkachenko

Faculty, Alumni and House staff


  • David Hatem, MD
  • Anselm Wong, MD
  • Michelle Trivedi, MD
  • Olga Valdman, MD


  • Imoigele Aisiku, MD
  • Bruce Minsky, MD
  • Richard Jacobs, MD

House staff

  • Mohammad Alqaim, MD
  • Jonathan Green, MD
  • Roberto Kutcher-Diaz, MD
  • Alex Pavidapha, MD
  • Christopher Schlieve, MD
  • Parth Sheth, MD