Campus alert status is orange: For the latest campus alert status, news and resources, visit

Search Close Search
Search Close Search


Frank Domino awarded 2021 Manning Prize for Excellence in Teaching at UMass Medical School

UMass awards recognize exemplary teaching and service across five UMass campuses

UMass Medical School Communications

May 04, 2021

UMass Medical School’s Frank Domino, MD, is one of five University of Massachusetts faculty awarded the 2021 Manning Prize for Excellence in Teaching for exemplary dedication to students and the university. The faculty members—one from each of the five UMass campuses—will receive $10,000 awards in recognition of their commitment to academic excellence.

Frank Domino, MD

Dr. Domino, professor of family medicine & community health, is the predoctoral education director and former clerkship director for a nationally recognized primary care teaching program. Since joining the faculty in 1996, Domino has earned a national reputation for teaching, most prominently in the area of evidence-based medicine. His students have routinely honored him as an outstanding educator for this work, which focuses on developing in students and physicians the need to continuously evaluate the science that supports medical decision-making using a number of tools, including systematic reviews of medical literature.

His elective class for medical students on leadership and professionalism exposes students to a world larger than academic study and encourages personal, professional, emotional and intellectual growth as a lifelong endeavor. His work as editor-in-chief of the 5 Minute Clinical Consult, an evidence-based resource for primary care physicians and physicians in training, and his standing-room-only lectures at the national meetings of the American Academy of Family Physicians and Pri-Med East, bring his insights, humanity and humor to ever larger audiences of physicians dedicated to lifelong professional development.

Domino is a graduate of Drew University and the University of Texas Medical School in Houston.

The other UMass faculty awarded the 2021 Manning Prize for Excellence in Teaching are Anne F. Broadbridge, PhD, associate chair/scheduling officer and professor of history at UMass Amherst; Lauren Marshall Bowen, PhD, assistant professor of English, College of Liberal Arts, and director, Composition Program at UMass Boston; Kiley Medeiros, MSN, RN, clinical assistant professor in the College of Nursing and Health Sciences at UMass Dartmouth; and Stacy Agee Szczesiul, EdD, associate professor of education at UMass Lowell. They will be honored at a virtual event on June 10.

UMass Lowell alumni Robert and Donna Manning established the Manning Prize in 2016 to honor UMass professors who excel in teaching and service. With the selection of this year’s honorees, 30 UMass faculty members now have the distinct honor of being Manning Prize recipients.

“We are thrilled to recognize these five faculty members whose talents and passion for teaching help make UMass a national model of excellence,” said Robert Manning, a 1984 graduate of UMass Lowell and current chairman of the UMass Board of Trustees. “Donna and I are so grateful for the experiences we had at the university thanks to the incredible faculty. We are excited to shine a spotlight on these five exemplary individuals whose work both in and out of the classroom transforms students’ lives and demonstrates UMass at its best.”

Robert Manning, who is chairman of MFS Investment Management, credits UMass Lowell math professor Bernie Shapiro with helping him land the job that launched his career. Donna Manning, who received her nursing degree and her Master of Business Administration from UMass Lowell, was an oncology nurse at Boston Medical Center for more than 30 years until her retirement in 2018. The Mannings are among the largest contributors to UMass in its history.

“Rob and Donna recognize from their personal experience as students that faculty are essential to the success of our great university and the reason that our students graduate with the excellent skills and can-do spirit they need to succeed,” said UMass President Marty Meehan. “We are deeply grateful to them for their generosity to UMass and for highlighting our outstanding faculty members.”

All full-time, tenured and nontenured faculty members are eligible to receive the Manning Prize. Each campus is responsible for determining its own nomination and selection process, but that process must include student and peer input to ensure that the selected faculty members meet the criteria of being superb teachers and exemplary members of the campus community.