Search Close Search
Search Close Search
Page Menu

John Haley named Mello Scholar

Date Posted: Wednesday, September 11, 2019


John Haley of the Guertin Lab (second from left) along with Hao-Ching Jiang, Christofer Welsh and Abigal Smith were named Mello Scholars by The UMass Chan Medical School Program in Molecular Medicine (PMM). 

John will receive his award from Nobel Laureate Craig Mello at an awards ceremony to be held on October 3, 2019.  The award recognizes graduate students in PMM with outstanding track records and bright futures.  It also comes with one year of funding.

Craig C. Mello, PhD, has been a member of the UMass Chan Medical School faculty since 1995, and a Howard Hughes Medical Investigator since 2000.  Dr. Mello and his colleague Andrew Fire, PhD, of Stanford University, were awarded The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine for 2006, for their discoveries related to RNA interference.