Search Close Search
Search Close Search
Page Menu

Welcome to GCB


Department photo 2022

Albert Sherman Center

The Department of Genomics and Computational Biology occupies 7,000 square-feet on the 4th and 5th floors of the Albert Sherman Center (ASC). The ASC cutting edge design integrates research and teaching in an exciting collaborative environment.

Albert Sherman Center

Science for Living: Gut microbiome offers clues to chronic disease

Science for Living: Gut microbiome offers clues to chronic disease

Researchers in UMass Chan Medical School’s Center for Microbiome Research are exploring the causal mechanisms by which bacteria in the gut influence chronic illnesses such as Alzheimer’s and Crohn’s disease and in autoimmune disorders and other conditions.

Category: Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences,School of Medicine,Emergency Medicine,Clinician,Faculty,Research,Beth A. McCormick,Microbiology and Physiological Systems,Latest News,John Haran,Top Stories,Media

Read more

Principal Investigators
Nezar Abdennur, Ph.D.
Andres Colubri, Ph.D.
Manuel Garber, Ph.D.
Elinor Karlsson, Ph.D.
Jill Moore, Ph.D.
Teng-Ting (Elaine) Lim, Ph.D.
Lingfei Wang, Ph.D.
Zhiping Weng, Ph.D.

Research Faculty
Frances Chen, DVM, Ph.D.
Alper Kucukural, Ph.D.
Rachel Daniels, Ph.D.

Senior Research Scientist
Carolina Salomao Lopes, Ph.D.

Research Specialist
Kathryn Lord, Ph.D.

Postdoctoral Fellows
Gaurav Chauhan, Ph.D.
Lucas Rocha-Moreira, Ph.D.
Tianxiong Yu, Ph.D.

Pepper Dawes
Sophia Fortier
Thomas Jacob
Mansi Khandpekar
Salihu Musa
Nishigandha Phalke
Huong Phan

UX Designer
Yinan Dong

Mobile App Developer
Andonaq Grozdani

Software Engineers
Hung Hong
Jonathan Fisher

Research Program Manager 
Vedat Yilmaz

Research Associates
Nathaniel Barton
Liam Murray
Meagan Olson
Jon Sundstrom

Research Data Specialists
Brittney Kenney

Graduate Students
Greg Andrews
Yuming Cao
Gaurav Chauhan
Samantha Chigas
Shaimae Elhajjajy
Mingshi Gao
Christopher Husted
Winnie Mkandawire
Adrian Orszulak
Thomas Reimonn
Shuo (Crystal) Shan
Nicole Shedd
Vista Sohrab
Askar Temirbek
Yuqing Wang

Visiting Scholars