Cytopathology Fellowship

Fellowship Description: This is a one-year ACGME-accredited fellowship program in cytopathology. The fellow will obtain expertise in all aspects of diagnostic cytopathology including performing and interpreting FNAs, interpreting exfoliative specimens and application of cytopicancillary techniques for diagnostic purposes. There are ample opportunities for basic and clinical-translational research within the division of cytopathology. As UMASS is the dominant provider of diagnostic pathology services and the major oncology center in central Massachusetts, we see a wide spectrum of cases. The volume and complexity of our cases and the opportunities for scholarly pursuits is well suited for future academic or community cytopathologists alike.

Fellows are given increasing responsibility with sign out responsibility and with on-site evaluation of FNAs. Fellows refine their communication and teaching skills via participation in multi-discipline conferences and with resident teaching responsibilities. Research projects are encouraged and all costs to perform the projects including travel to meetings for presentation are funded by the department.

Program Director: Andrew Fischer, MD

Stipend and Benefits: Stipend is commensurate with training. Click here for more details on the GME website.

Vacation and Elective Time: Fellows have 3 weeks vacation time and 5 weeks of elective time.

Onsite Child Care: Bright Horizons Family Solutions, University Campus Center

Call Responsibilities: No overnight or weekend call

Requirements: Board eligible or Board certified in AP/CP or AP, successful completion of USMLE step 3, and Massachusetts State Medical License (prior to matriculation)

Applications and Contact Information: Download application form

Caitrin Reynolds
Fellowship Program Administrator
Three Biotech, One Innovation Drive
Worcester, MA 01605

Cytopathology Faculty

Ali Akalin, M.D.
Ediz Cosar, M.D.
Andrew Fischer, M.D., Director of Cytopathology
Armando Fraire, M.D.
Zhong Jiang, M.D.
Dina Kandil, M.D.Christopher Owens, M.D., Director Cytopathology Fellowship