Community Engagement Committee

The Community Engagement Committee promotes interprofessional community engagement focused on teaching and service. In teaching, we advance service-learning; in service, we advance action that responds to community-identified need.  Below are some examples of community-based programs at the medical school for which we provide guidance and support:

UMMS Population Health Clerkship

UMMS Summer Service Learning Assistantship

UMMS Martin Luther King Semester of Service Student Awards


Members of the Community Engagement Committee Include

Suzanne Cashman, ScD, Committee Co-Chair, Family Medicine and Community Health

Kola Akindele, JD, MS, Committee Co-Chair, Office of Community and Government Relations

Amy Borg, MPH, MEd, Center for Clinical and Translational Research

Linda Cragin, MS, Mass AHEC Network at UMass Medical School

Nathaniel Erskine, Medical Student

Barbara Estabrook, Preventive and Behavioral Medicine

Sandra Gray, Office of Communications 

Barbara Grimes-Smith, Psychiatry

Tina Grosowski, Psychiatry

Janet Hale, PhD RN FNP, Graduate School of Nursing

Heather Lyn-Haley, PhD, Family Medicine and Community Health

Robert Layne, MEdOffice of Outreach Programs and Worcester Pipeline Collaborative

James Leary, Esq., Office of Community and Government Relations

Monica Lowell, UMass Memorial Health Care Community Benefits

Hosana Mamata, Medical Student

Kerri McKie, Medical Student

Giannina Monestime, Medical Student

Beverly Nazarian, MD, Pediatrics

Ekaterina Pivovarova, Psychiatry/SPARC

Kimberly Reckert, UMass Memorial Health Care Community Benefits

Nicole Small, Commonwealth Medicine

Morgan Thompson, GSBS

Janice Weaver, UMass Conquering Diseases Biorepository

Margaret Xu, Medical Student