UMass Medical School inducts 21 students into Gold Humanism Honor Society

Six residents, three faculty also admitted into organization dedicated to compassionate health care

UMass Medical School Communications

May 31, 2017
  Twenty-one students, six residents and three faculty members were inducted in to the Gold Humanism Honor Society.

Twenty-one students, six residents and three faculty members were inducted in to the Gold Humanism Honor Society. 

The UMass Medical School chapter of the Gold Humanism Honor Society inducted 21 medical students as members on Wednesday, May 31. The students were nominated by their classmates and mentors as exemplars of compassionate patient-centered care. Six residents and three faculty members were also inducted into the society.

The Gold Humanism Honor Society is a signature program of the Arnold P. Gold Foundation, an international nonprofit organization committed to fostering and maintaining a culture of compassion, caring and respect in health care. The UMMS chapter was established in 2014.

The honor society recognizes students, residents and faculty who practice “patient-centered care by modeling the qualities of integrity, excellence, compassion, altruism, respect and empathy.” The Gold Foundation also designed the White Coat Ceremony, which has become an important and beloved ritual for first-year medical students and their families.

UMMS leaders and mentors also took part in the induction, with Chancellor Michael F. Collins delivering opening remarks; Chloe Williams, MD, a resident in the Department of Surgery, introducing the keynote speaker; Babak Movahedi, MD, PhD, assistant professor of surgery and 2017 faculty Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine recipient, delivering the keynote address; Michael Ennis, MD, clinical professor of family medicine & community health, presenting the Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Awards; and School of Medicine Dean Terence R. Flotte wrapping up the program. Jessica Long, SOM ’17, was awarded the student Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award.

The following individuals were inducted:

Student inductees
Corinne Ainsworth
Katarina Anderson
Christopher Androski
Raghu Appasani
Preetam Cholli
Emily Fan
Elizabeth Ferzacca
Robert Gakwaya
Anna Handorf
Joshua Kolikof
Steven Krueger
Nichole Lang
Michael Moverman
Charles Nessralla
Jonathan Quang
Blair Robinson
Yevin Roh
Leah Shesler
Elizabeth Tammaro
Camilla Yu
Yan Emily Yuan

Resident inductees
Cyndie Hatcher, MD
Abraham Jaffe, MD
Connie Lee, MD
Yevgeniy Popov, DO
Benjamin Slocum, DO
Katherine Yanagisawa, DO

Faculty inductees
Sonia Nagy Chimienti, MD
Ty Fraga, PhD
Michele Pugnaire, MD

For the Media
▴ Back To Top
Section Menu To Top