Educational Recognition Awards, Last Lecture and Second Year Oath Ceremony will take place April 25

Hatem to deliver the Last Lecture at the annual celebration of teaching at UMMS

By Sandra Gray

UMass Medical School Communications

April 24, 2017
  David Hatem, MD, accepts the 2016 Chancellor’s Medal for Distinguished Teaching from Chancellor Michael F. Collins in September.

David Hatem, MD, accepts the 2016 Chancellor’s Medal for Distinguished Teaching from Chancellor Michael F. Collins in September.

The 19th annual Educational Recognition Awards ceremony at UMass Medical School will recognize 27 faculty members for excellence in teaching on Tuesday, April 25, at 4 p.m. in the Albert Sherman Center Auditorium. (See list of honorees, below.) The award presentations will be followed with the Last Lecture, and conclude with the Second Year Oath ceremony for the School of Medicine Class of 2019.

As the 2016 recipient of the Chancellor’s Medal for Distinguished Teaching, David Hatem, MD, professor of medicine, will present the Last Lecture, entitled “Learning from Eudora and the Wizard.” Dr. Hatem received the medal at Convocation last September.

Educational Recognition Awards honor achievements in educating students at the School of Medicine, Graduate School of Nursing and Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences.

A new addition to this year’s event is inclusion of the Second Year Oath Ceremony. Taking the oath is a milestone in medical training, marking the transition from two years of largely classroom instruction, to two years of clinical rotations focused on providing direct patient care. The members of School of Medicine Class of 2019 will recite an oath they wrote collectively, pledging to “uphold the tenets of the medical profession and to use empathy as a compass to guide [their] actions.”

A reception will be held in the Sherman Center Cube.

The 2017 Educational Recognition Awards

Graduate School of Nursing

    • GSN Dean’s Award – Janet Hale, PhD, RN, FNP
    • GSN Distinguished Faculty Awards
      • Amy Kendrick, MS, RN, ANP-BC
      • Susan Feeney, DNP, FNP-BC
      • Gayle Gravlin, EdD, RN, NEA-BC

Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences

    • GSBS Dean’s Award – Foundations Course Steering Committee
      • Richard Baker, PhD
      • Mary Ellen Lane, PhD
      • Melissa Moore, PhD
      • Mary Munson, PhD
      • Neal Silverman, PhD
      • William Theurkauf, PhD
      • Heidi Tissenbaum, PhD
      • David Weaver, PhD
      • Konstantin Zeldovich, PhD
    • GSBS Faculty Awards
      • Co-directors of the Molecular Basis of Disease Course
        • Lawrence Hayward, MD, PhD
        • Pranoti Mandrekar, PhD
        • Chinmay Trivedi, MD, PhD
      • Stavroula Chrysanthopoulou, PhD
      • Shashi Bala, PhD
      • Catherine Dube, EdD

School of Medicine

    • Educational “Star” Award
      • Mai-Lan Rogoff, MD
      • Leslie Berg, PhD
      • Robert Weinstein, MD
      • Chris Marshall, MD
    • Lamar Soutter Award – Mark Dershwitz MD, PhD
    • Outstanding Medical Educator Awards
      • Susan Gagliardi, PhD
      • Mai-Lan Rogoff, MD
      • Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Mentoring – the recipient will be announced at the event.


Related stories on UMassMedNow:
Convocation 2016 recognizes Chancellor’s Medal recipients; faculty invested as named chairs
Educational Recognition Awards highlight excellence among UMMS faculty

For the Media
▴ Back To Top
Section Menu To Top