New awards top off GSN Alumni Breakfast

UMass Medical School Communications

May 30, 2014
  • The UMass Worcester Graduate School of Nursing Class of 2014 pose for a group photo before the breakfast.
  • Chancellor Michael F. Collins greets attendees to the 2014 GSN Alumni Breakfast and Awards Ceremony.
  • The Chancellor’s Award is presented to Christine Klucznik (center) with daughter and Master of Science Class of 2014 member Kimberly Kluzcnik, RN, at her side.
  • Dean emerita Lillian Goodman introduces the award named in her honor.
  • Dean emerita Lillian Goodman congratulates Colette Dieujuste, winner of the Lillian R. Goodman Award.
  • Colette Dieujuste is congratulated by husband Saul and sons Jonathan, 11, and Zachary, 15.
  • Professor emerita Mary Kay Alexander presents the award named after her to Ashley Rosati.
  • Abigail Mathews receives the Academic Achievement and Leadership Award from GSN Dean Paulette Seymour Route.
  • Brian Bergeron, winner of the Lucie D. Russell Briefcase Award, stands with presenter Jill Terrien, PhD.
  • Stacey Willard accepts her award, presented by (from left) Shawn Cody, MD; Craig Lilly, MD; and Richard Irwin, MD.
  • (from left) Jill Terrien, PhD, congratulates Community Service Award winners Katherine Swigar Droste and Jennifer Webb along with Dr. Seymour Route.
  • Tanya Swiderski, pictured here with Dr. Jill Terrien, is the inaugural recipient of the Lynne Foster Davidson Scholarship.
  • Suzanne T. Sullivan Scholarship winner Elizabeth Terhune (center) is pictured with Sullivan family representatives Judy Lengieza, MS, and Susan Zangarine, MS.
  • President and CEO Toni Maguire, RN, MPH, holds the award she accepted on behalf of the Edward M. Kennedy Community Health Center, flanked by staffers and Chancellor Collins and Dean Terence Flotte.
  • Dawn Carpenter, DNP, (second from left) and Johnny Isenberger, MS, (center) were surprised with a special award from students.
  • Concluding the event, each graduate was given a rose by members of the Graduate Nursing Student Organization.

A packed room of faculty, alumni, family and friends applauded the 68 members of the Graduate School of Nursing’s Class of 2014 at the pre-commencement Alumni Breakfast on Friday, May 30. Two new awards were presented this year, in addition to the annual slate of recognitions. The Lynne Foster Davidson Scholarship was awarded to master’s student Tanya Swiderski, RN. 

And, a special, one-time award was presented by students to GSN faculty Dawn Carpenter, DNP, assistant professor of nursing, and Johnny Isenberg, MS, RN, for establishing the new critical care sub-track.

Chancellor’s Award
Christine Klucznik, MS, RN

Lillian R. Goodman Award
Colette Dieujuste, MS, RN

Mary K. Alexander Academic Achievement and Leadership Award
Ashley Rosati, RN

DNP Scholarship
Telana Fairchild, BSN, RN

Academic Achievement and Leadership Award
Abigail McLaufin King Mathews, RN

Mary Kinnear Raymond Award
Susan Hernandez, RN

Lucie D. Russell Briefcase Award
Brian Bergeron, RN

Outstanding Nurse Practitioner Student in Critical Care Award
Stacey E. Willard, RN

GSN Community Service Award
Christina McKee, RN
Jennifer Stanhope, RN
Katherine Swigar Droste, RN
Jennifer Webb, RN

GSN Community Faculty Awards
Adult-Gerontology Primary Care Nurse Practitioner Track—Christopher Bilodeau, MS
Adult-Gerontology  Acute Care Nurse Practitioner Track—Katie Bell, MS
Family Nurse Practitioner Track—Steve Martin, MS
Nurse Educator Track—Meg Ahearn, MS

UMass Memorial Medical Center Outstanding Preceptor in Critical Care Award
Jennifer Fisher, MS

Suzanne T. Sullivan Scholarship
Elizabeth Terhune, RN

Lynne Foster Davidson Scholarship
Tanya Swiderski, RN

Outstanding Community Partner Award
Edward M. Kennedy Community Health Center

For the Media
▴ Back To Top
Section Menu To Top