Honorary Degree Dinner

June 01, 2014
  • The Honorary Degree Dinner, held on May 31, has become a campus tradition.
  • Fred Anderson, MD, far left, and Bruce Cutler, MD, second from right.
  • image 7
  • Honorary Degree recipient H. Brownell “Brownie” Wheeler, MD, right, and School of Medicine Dean and Provost Terence R. Flotte, MD.
  • At the honorary degree dinner at UMass Medical School.
  • Maxine Morse, and her husband, Leonard Morse, MD, talk with Chancellor Michael F. Collins.
  • Honorary Degree recipient Cherylann Gengel
  • 8.	Chancellor Michael F. Collins with Michael Czech, PhD, the Chancellor’s Award recipient for Distinguished Scholarship.
  • From left, Susan and Oscar Starobin, MD, Brownie Wheeler, MD, Demetrius E. M. Litwin, MD, Bruce Cutler, MD.
  • Chancellor Michael F. Collins with Susan Wornick, former Channel 5 anchor. Honorary Degree recipients Leonard and Cherylann’s daughter Britney shadowed Wornick as an intern.
  • Commonwealth Medicine’s Joyce Murphy
  • Honorary degree
  • Honorary Degree recipient Leonard Gengel with UMass Board of Trustees Chairman Henry Thomas.
  • Chancellor Michael F. Collins welcomes guests to the Honorary Degree Dinner.
  • Gyongyi Szabo, MD, PhD
  • Honorary Degree recipient and UMass Medical School’s first faculty member H. Brownell Wheeler, MD, with his wife Elizabeth
  • Special Representative for Global Partnerships in the U.S. Secretary of State’s Office Drew O’Brien receives a surprise chancellor’s medal from Chancellor Michael F. Collins.
  • Drew O’Brien making remarks after receiving a Chancellor’s Medal.
  • Honorary degree
  • Chancellor Collins with Honorary Degree recipients Cherylann and Leonard Gengel
  • Be Like Brit founders Cherylann and Leonard Gengel speak at the Honorary Degree Dinner.
  • Chancellor’s Medal recipient and Commencement speaker U.S. Rep. James P. McGovern speaks at dinner.
  • U.S. Rep. James P. McGovern
  • Nobel Laureate Craig Mello, PhD, with U.S. Rep. James P. McGovern
  • From left, Drew O’Brien, Cherylann Gengel, Chancellor Michael F. Collins, Leonard Gengel and U.S. Rep. James P. McGovern.
For the Media
▴ Back To Top
Section Menu To Top