Davis receives Beering Award from Indiana University

By Kristen O’Reilly

UMass Medical School Communications

November 06, 2013
   Roger Davis LH
  Roger J. Davis, PhD

Roger J. Davis, PhD, Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator, H. Arthur Smith Chair in Cancer Research and professor of molecular medicine and biochemistry & molecular pharmacology, has been named the recipient of the Indiana University’s 2013 Steven C. Beering Award for outstanding advancements in biomedical and clinical science.


As a Beering awardee, Dr. Davis presented two lectures at Indiana University, including the official award lecture, “Metabolic Stress Responses,” on Oct. 20.

"It was an honor to nominate Roger for this award and a great thrill to learn he was the awardee this year,” said Michael Czech, PhD, the Isadore and Fannie Foxman Chair in Medical Research, chair and professor of molecular medicine and professor of biochemistry & molecular pharmacology. “This is another well-deserved top accolade for Roger, who has made seminal discoveries on cellular signaling pathways that relate directly to understanding the causes of cancer, neurological disease and diabetes. His work has great potential to ultimately help develop therapies for these diseases.”

Davis graduated from Queens’ College of Cambridge University, Great Britain, where he received a bachelor’s degree in natural sciences, advanced degrees in biochemistry and natural sciences, and a doctorate degree in biochemistry. He also was a research fellow at Queens’ College. Davis served as a Damon Runyon/Walter Winchell Cancer Fund Fellow at UMMS in the laboratory of Dr. Czech prior to joining the UMMS faculty in 1985. He was appointed as the first Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator at UMMS in 1990.

The goal of Davis’ laboratory is to understand the molecular mechanism by which inflammation contributes to diabetes, cancer and stroke. Davis’ studies of stress signaling pathways have led to the discovery of new genes that contribute to the development of these devastating diseases. A focus of Davis’ current studies is the design of novel therapeutic strategies.

Davis is a fellow of the Royal Society, the European Molecular Biology Organization, the American Academy of Microbiology, the National Academy of Inventors and the American Association for the Advancement of Science. He also serves as editor-in-chief of the American Society of Microbiology journal Molecular & Cellular Biology and is a member of the editorial boards of eLife, Genes & Development and Molecular Cell.

The Beering Award was established in 1983 to honor the important contributions Stephen Beering, MD, made as dean of the Indiana University School of Medicine from 1974 to 1983. Presented annually, the Beering Award consists of a medal and $25,000 prize.