Share this story

Women’s Faculty Awards honor outstanding contributions

Manno, Manchester, Murphy, Deligiannidis, Franklin, Edmiston and Andrieni recognized

Winners of the 2013 Women’s Faculty Awards with co-chairs of the Women’s Faculty Committee are (from left) Patricia Franklin; Julia Andrieni; co-chairs Rebecca Lundquist, MD, assistant professor of psychiatry and Sybil Crawford, PhD, professor of medicine; Kathryn Edmiston; Elizabeth Murphy; Trudy Morrison; Kristina Deligiannidis; and Marian Manno.


Seven women were honored at the 13th Annual Women’s Faculty Awards Luncheon, celebrating excellence in community service, education, science and health, patient care and mentorship. The event was held May 20 at UMass Medical School.

The Women’s Faculty Committee sponsors the awards, which were presented following the keynote presentation “Mentoring and Leadership on the Journey” from Jean King, PhD, professor of psychiatry. Dr. King was the recipient of the 2012 Outstanding Mentor Award.

2013 Women’s Faculty Awards and honorees are:

Outstanding Community Service Award

Mariann Manno, MD, professor of pediatrics and emergency medicine


Sarah Stone Excellence in Education Award

Trudy Manchester, MD, clinical associate professor of medicine

Elizabeth Murphy, MD, clinical associate professor of medicine

Early Career Achievement in Science and Health Award

Kristina Deligiannidis, MD, assistant professor of psychiatry

Women in Science and Health Achievement Award

Patricia Franklin, MD, MBA, MPH, professor of orthopedics & physical rehabilitation and family medicine & community health

Excellence in Clinical Services Award

Kathryn Edmiston, MD, associate professor of medicine


Outstanding Mentor Award

Julia Andrieni, MD, the Joy McCann Professor for Women in Medicine and professor of medicine