Department of Medicine Mission Statement

The Department of Medicine is home to physicians, other healthcare practitioners, scientists, educators, staff, and trainees committed to enhancing the health of our local and global communities through patient care, research, and education. 

In accordance with ancient traditions, it is our goal to prevent disease wherever possible; to treat disease when prevention is not possible; and to alleviate pain and suffering at all times. 

In accordance with modern traditions, it is our goal to drive rapid advancement in scientific knowledge, health information technology, and new paradigms in clinical operations. We use the best evidence available to provide safe, high quality humanistic care for our patients and populations.

In accordance with academic traditions, we commit to a vital partnership between research, education and clinical systems; to lead scientific discovery to improve health and health care delivery; and to provide for the future through training of tomorrow’s health care providers and leaders.

Who are we?

The Department is represented by 19 divisions: Cardiovascular Medicine, Clinical Informatics, Community Internal Medicine, Diabetes, Endocrinology, Gastroenterology, General Internal Medicine, Geriatric Medicine, Hematology and Oncology, Hospital Medicine, Infectious Diseases and Immunology, Medicine-Pediatrics, Palliative Care, Preventive and Behavioral Medicine, Pulmonary Allergry and Critical Care Medicine, Renal Medicine, Rheumatology, and Transfusion Medicine.

Our newest division, the Division of Clinical Informatics, was created in recognition that the viability of modern health and health care delivery relies on the way we use data and information to provide direct patient care, manage populations of patients, conduct clinical research, and educate our trainees.