Staff and Faculty

The interprofessional Center for Experiential Learning and Simulation (iCELS) is directed by an interdisciplinary team with expertise in education, clinical training, and simulation technologies. Collectively they ensure that our users have the highest quality hands-on experience that ultimately leads to increased patient safety and expert patient care.

Michele P. Pugnaire, MD
Executive Director, iCELS
Senior Associate Dean, Educational Affairs
michele.pugnaire@umassmed.edu

Tanya Zinkus
Director of Business Operations
tanya.zinkus@umassmed.edu

Kathleen Altomare
Financial Analyst
kathleen.altomare@umassmed.edu

Laura Cardin
Training Coordinator, Surgical Skills
laura.cardin@umassmed.edu

Anne Carroll
Director, Graduate School of Nursing Lab 
anne.carroll@umassmed.edu

Jen Donham
Education Program Coordinator
jennifer.donham@umassmed.edu

Anne Gilroy
Director for Imaging and Anatomy Resources
anne.gilroy@umassmed.edu

Madeline Johns
Education Program Specialist
madeline.johns@umassmed.edu

Iris Lika
Education Event Specialist
iris.lika@umassmed.edu

Kerry Markey, BS, EMT-P
Simulation Technician
kerry.markey@umassmed.edu

Sarah McGee, MD, MPH
Educational Programming Coordinator
sarah.mcgee@umassmed.edu

Sylvia Stanhope
Education Program Specialist
sylvia.stanhope@umassmed.edu

Melinda Taylor, BS 
Senior Engineer
melinda.taylor@umassmed.edu

Eileen Terrill, RN, PhD
Director, Graduate Entry Pathway Program, Graduate School of Nursing
eileen.terrill@umassmed.edu

Maureen Wassef, RN, MSN, PhD
Graduate School of Nursing
maureen.wassef@umassmed.edu

Scott Wellman, MD
Interim Assistant Dean for Academic Achievement
scott.wellman@umassmed.edu

Jorge Yarzebski, BA, NREMT-P
Simulation Specialist, Certified Healthcare Simulation Educator
jorge.yarzebski2@umassmed.edu


iCELS Partners

Michael Kneeland, MD
Associate Dean for Interprofessional Education and Allied Health; Interim Associate Dean of Student Affairs
Michael.kneeland@umassmed.edu

Paulette Seymour-Route, PhD, RN, MS
Dean, Graduate School of Nursing
paulette.seymourroute@umassmed.edu

Mary Zanetti, EdD
Senior Director, Institutional Research, Evaluation & Assessment
mary.zanetti@umassmed.edu