For the latest COVID-19 campus news and resources, visit

Buscar Close Search
Buscar Close Search
Page Menu

Three BMP students win ASBMB travel awards

Date Posted: jueves, febrero 13, 2020

Travel award recipients

Three BMP students, Shurong Hou, Anne Jecrois, and Heather Loring were awarded the ASBMB travel award to fund attendance to the annual meeting and permit participation in the career development program. The meeting will be held in San Diego from April 4-7, 2020.

Shurong Hou: This award allows me to present my thesis work, which is Structural Mechanism of Substrate Specificity in Human Cytidine Deaminase Family APOBEC3s, at the meeting and networking to find potential future career. 

Anne Jecrois: As a first-time attendee of the ASBMB conference, I am overjoyed to be awarded a travel award to present my research at the annual meeting in San Diego. The benefits of attending the 2020 ASBMB meeting will extend beyond my scientific development. The career development events for travel awardees will foster mechanisms for me to connect with new colleagues and mentors. I am committed to making good use of these opportunities to develop new skills for my personal and professional development as a scientist. 

Heather Loring: At the conference, Heather will present her recent work on elucidating the enzymology of SARM1 and identifying inhibitors for this enzyme, which is a novel drug target for peripheral neuropathy, traumatic brain injury, and neurodegenerative diseases. 

Under the supervision of Celia Schiffer, the three will also participate in the CREST program, which enables undergraduate students to learn more about research projects through protein modelling.