Share this story

Annual Educational Recognition Awards May 5 will honor teaching excellence

Chancellor’s Medal for Distinguished Teaching recipient Mai-Lan Rogoff will deliver the Last Lecture at virtual event

The Educational Recognition Awards ceremony and Last Lecture return with a hybrid format after a one-year hiatus, when 21 faculty and other educators will be recognized for excellence in teaching on Wednesday, May 5 from 4 to 6 p.m. The traditional event includes words of wisdom from an esteemed teacher and recognition of community members who excel as mentors, teachers and advisors fulfilling the educational mission of UMass Medical School.

Mai-Lan Rogoff, MD

Following the award presentations, Mai-Lan Rogoff, MD, professor emeritus of psychiatry and former associate dean for student affairs, will deliver the Last Lecture. The honor of presenting the Last Lecture is bestowed on the recipient of the annual Chancellor’s Medal for Distinguished Teaching, which Dr. Rogoff received in 2019. The medal is presented to a faculty member who has fostered students’ personal, intellectual and professional development. Nominated by the faculty and selected by the chancellor, recipients are outstanding course instructors and have demonstrated excellence in advising and mentoring students, developing and assessing curricula, assessing student learning outcomes, and guiding junior faculty in developing their teaching skills. Rogoff is also the recipient of the 2020 Manning Prize for Excellence in Teaching.

Rogoff, a classically trained musician, has titled her Last Lecture “It's All Jazz.”

The Educational Recognition Awards and Last Lecture will be a hybrid event, with in-person attendance limited to UMMS community members who are actively participating in the weekly surveillance testing program, on a first-come, first-serve basis by reservation. Virtual attendance is available to all. Registration is required.

All are invited to join in congratulating the award recipients.

Graduate School of Nursing

Dean’s Award
Carol Bova, PhD, RN, ANP

Distinguished Faculty Awards
Mary Fischer, PhD, MSN, WHNP-BC
Jill Terrien, PhD, ANP-BC
Donna Perry, PhD, RN

Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences

Dean’s Award
Craig Peterson, PhD

Faculty Awards
Catherine Dube, EdD

Alper Kucukural, PhD
Samuel Behar, MD, PhD
Priyadharshini Devarajan, PhD
Christl Gaubitz, PhD
Mary Munson, PhD

School of Medicine

Lamar Soutter Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Medical Education
Trudy Morrison, PhD

Educational Achievement (Star) Awards
Susan Hogan, MD

Anatomy Dissection Bootcamp Weeks Team
Lela Giannaris, PhD
Alexandra Wink, PhD
Amanda Collins, MPH

Outstanding Medical Educator Awards
Howard Sachs, MD
Christopher Sassetti, PhD
Read Pukkila-Worley, MD

Resident/Fellow Award for Excellence in Medical Student Education
Kristen Richard, MD
Mohammed Abozenah, MD

Patient as Teacher Award
Bettye Anderson Frederic

Retired Faculty Teaching Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Medical Education
Susan Tarrant

Administrative Staff Award
Justin Ayala, MPH

University Award

Janet Fraser Hale Humanism in Health Care Scholarship/Award
Timothy Winn, SOM '22

Related stories on UMassMed News:
Convocation 2019: Chancellor Collins launches strategic plan, ‘IMPACT 2025’
Educational Recognition Awards on April 26 to honor teaching excellence