Campus Alert: Find the latest UMMS campus news and resources at

Search Close Search


Women’s Faculty Awards honor achievements in service, education, research and patient care

By Megan Bard and Bryan Goodchild

UMass Medical School Communications

junio 12, 2018

The 2018 Women’s Faculty Awards luncheon at UMass Medical School celebrated members for their contributions to the advancement of women in science and health care in the areas of community service, education, clinical practice, mentorship, science and health, and early career development. The annual event, held Monday, June 11, is sponsored by the Office of Faculty Affairs and the Women’s Faculty Committee of the Diversity and Equal Opportunity Office.

“This event recognizes and reinforces a core institutional strength, that of our women faculty leaders,” said Chancellor Michael F. Collins. “We’re very fortunate to have an abundance of faculty leaders who are women and who serve as models and mentors to many in our campus community.”

The luncheon recognized five faculty members for achievement with special awards and celebrated the more than 35-year career and contributions of Women’s Faculty Committee founding member Judith Ockene, PhD, MEd, MA, the Barbara Helen Smith Chair of Preventive and Behavioral Medicine, associate vice provost for gender and equity, professor of medicine and chief of the Division of Preventive and Behavioral Medicine.

Luanne Thorndyke, MD, vice provost for faculty affairs and professor of medicine, illuminated some of Dr. Ockene’s achievements and contributions, which have led to an overall improvement to the university, particularly in regard to women faculty. Dr. Throndyke highlighted Ockene’s notable leadership in the implementation of regular reviews of compensation equity, promotion and opportunities for collaboration and mentoring.

“Dr. Ockene’s contributions are numerous and substantial,” said Thorndyke.

Ockene emphasized that she is not retiring from the medical school, but rather stepping away from her roles as division chief and associate vice provost July 1. Stephenie Lemon, PhD, professor of medicine, will assume the position of division chief.

“I cannot tell you how much I cherish all of the moments, and some were not so easy, that I’ve had here with all my faculty, my colleagues, the leadership and all of the wonderful things we do here. Thank you again for your continued support,” Ockene said.

The group took a moment to remember the career of beloved colleague Shubjeet Kaur, MD, chief and professor of anesthesiology, who died in May.

“Dr. Shubi Kaur was an excellent role model for any women leader, or any leader. Her leadership was about accomplishing the greater good. We will certainly miss her,” said Dean Terence R. Flotte, MD, the Celia and Isaac Haidak Professor of Medical Education, executive deputy chancellor, provost and dean of the School of Medicine.

Awards were presented by Women’s Faculty Committee co-chairs Nancy Byatt, DO, MBA, associate professor of psychiatry, obstetrics & gynecology and quantitative health sciences, and Amy Costigan, PhD, assistant professor of emergency medicine. Each awardee shared brief remarks, expressing gratitude for the support they have received at UMMS—from their departmental colleagues to institutional leadership.

  Women’s Faculty Committee co-chairs and award recipients

Women’s Faculty Committee co-chairs and award recipients


2018 Women’s Faculty Awards

Early Career Achievement in Science and Health Award
Dorothy Schafer, PhD, assistant professor of neurobiology

Excellence in Clinical Services Award
Constance Nichols, MD, professor of emergency medicine

Outstanding Mentor to Women Award
Lori Pbert, PhD, professor of medicine

Sarah Stone Excellence in Education Award
Stacy Potts, MD, MEd, associate professor of family medicine & community health

Women in Science and Health Achievement Award
Stephenie Lemon, PhD, professor of medicine