Campus alert status is green: For the latest UMMS campus alert status, news and resources, visit

Search Close Search


Thoru Pederson elected president of Medical Exchange Club of Boston

UMass Medical School Communications

octubre 07, 2014

Thoru Pederson, PhD, the Vitold Arnett Professor of Cell Biology, professor of biochemistry & molecular pharmacology, and associate vice provost for research, has been elected president of the Medical Exchange Club of Boston. Dr. Pederson was elected a member in 2008, and in 2014 was elected by the membership to fill the newly created position of president, effective Sept. 1.

The club was founded in 1920 by leaders of the Harvard Medical School to provide a forum for talks by eminent physicians and biomedical scientists.

Other members from UMMS include Mark Klempner, MD, executive vice chancellor of MassBiologics and professor of medicine, elected in 2003 while at Boston University School of Medicine; Terence R. Flotte, MD, the Celia and Isaac Haidak Professor of Medical Education, executive deputy chancellor, provost and dean of the School of Medicine, elected in 2013; and Robert H. Brown Jr., DPhil, MD, the Leo P. and Theresa M. LaChance Chair in Medical Research andchair and professor of neurology, elected in 2014.