For the latest COVID-19 campus news and resources, visit

Buscar Close Search


Four UMMS faculty elected as fellows of AAAS

diciembre 04, 2012

In October, the American Association for the Advancement of Science Council elected four members of the UMass Medical School faculty as fellows of AAAS. They include Stuart Levitz, MD, professor of medicine and microbiology & physiological systems, who was elected to the section on medical schools; Arlene Ash, PhD, professor of quantitative health sciences, who was elected to the section on statistics; and Roger Davis, PhD, Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator, H. Arthur Smith Chair in Cancer Research and professor of molecular medicine and biochemistry & molecular pharmacology, and George Witman, PhD, the George F. Booth Chair in the Basic Sciences and professor of cell & developmental biology, who were elected to the section on biological sciences.

The AAAS is an international non-profit organization dedicated to advancing science through leadership in science policy, international programs and science education. In addition to organizing membership activities, AAAS publishes the premiere science journal Science, as well as many scientific newsletters, books and reports, and initiates programs that elevate understanding of science worldwide.

Fellows are nominated and selected by their peers for their meritorious efforts to advance science and its applications. The 701 fellows elected in 2012 will be recognized at the AAAS annual meeting in Boston in February.

For more information about AAAS, visit its website.

Related link on UMassMedNow:

Welsh elected to prestigious scientific society, AAAS (2011)