Campus alert status is yellow: For the latest UMMS campus alert status, news and resources, visit

Search Close Search
Page Menu

GSBS Celebrates Student Achievement 2012

Date Posted: junio 14, 2012

The Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences hosted its 3rd annual Celebration of Student Achievement on Friday, June 1, 2012. Students and graduates were recognized for outstanding achievement in a variety of academic and co-curricular endeavors. 2012 Graduates were joined by students, faculty and alumni for the award ceremony and reception.

Chancellor Collins presented 2012 graduate Jennifer Ziegenfuss with the prestigious Chancellor’s Award for Outstanding Distinction in Research, Leadership and Service. Hugh Gannon and Ozlem Yildirim both received the Dean’s Award for the Most Insightful Doctoral Thesis Research. Hugh was recognized for his thesis research on “Mdm2-p53 Signaling in Tissue Homeostasis and the DAN Damage Response" under the mentorship of Stephen Jones, Ph.D. Ozlem was recognized for her thesis research on “Chromatin Dynamics in Pluripotency and Differentiation” under the mentorship of Oliver Rando, M.D., Ph.D.

First year students received awards for Outstanding Achievement in the Core Curriculum. Samantha Palace was recognized for her outstanding academic performance in the Basic & Biomedical Sciences, Elizabeth Mollie Wood in Clinical & Population Health Research, and Alison Casserly for her achievement in the first 2 years of study in the M.D./Ph.D. program.

Students nominated their peers for Outstanding Mentoring in the Classroom or Research setting. Divya Iyer (last year’s awardee for outstanding 1st year curricular achievement) was selected from among the many nominations as this year’s most outstanding student mentor.

Dean Carruthers shared the accomplishments of a few GSBS students, in particular Eric Swanson, Hilary Placzek, and Heidi Malaby for their commitment to serving the community in various local causes such as Habitat for Humanity, Special Olympics, and organizing food drives and fundraisers.

As he concluded the program, Dean Carruthers reminded our graduates that they are now members of an ancient and distinguished community of scholars that can trace its principled approach to scientific enquiry back to the beginnings of recorded history and whose collective responsibility is to illuminate and improve the human condition.