Chengjian Li receives a 2010 Harold M. Weintraub Award

Date Posted: 03/15/10

Chengjian LiChengjian Li, a graduate student in Phil Zamore’s laboratory, has received a 2010 Harold M. Weintraub Graduate Student Award for his thesis work on piwi-interacting RNA molecules in Drosophila. Chengjian is the third BMP graduate student to receive this prestigious award following in the footsteps of Marcus Noyes (2009) and Dianne Schwarz (2005). Sponsored by the Basic Sciences Division of the Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center, the Weintraub award recognizes the best graduate students in the life sciences in the nation and world on the basis of the quality, originality and significance of their work. For 2010, only 13 students from North America were chosen for this award—considered by many to be the “Nobel Prize” for graduate students in biomedical sciences.


Chengjian will participate with the other award recipients in a scientific symposium on May 7 at Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center in Seattle. Congratulations Chengjian!!!