

EXECUTIVE COUNCIL MEETING MINUTESJanuary 18, 2024

INVITEES/ATTENDEES

Voting Members- Chairs		Voting Members- Other	Non-Voting Members-	
Allison, Jeroan, MD		Flotte, Terence, MD	Acosta, Alan, PhD	Kedian, Tracy, MD
Aquino, Patrick, MD	Moore Simas, Tiffany, MD, MPH	Grunwald, David	Ahn, Mary, MD	Larkin, Anne, MD
Baldor, Robert, MD	Rathlev, Niels, MD	Lane, Mary Ellen, PhD	Artenstein, Andrew, MD	Lewis, Brian, PhD
Barrett, AM, MD	Rhein, Lawrence, MD, MPH	McMaster, Erin, MD	Berryman, Jennifer	Lindstedt, John, CPA
Boney, Charlotte, MD	Rock, Kenneth, MD	Plasse, Mechelle, PhD	Boudreaux, Edwin, PhD	Luzuriaga, Katherine, MD
Brown, Calvin, MD	Rosen, Max, MD	Sadasivam, Rajani, PhD	Brownawell, Carolyn, MBA	Mattocks, Kristin, PhD, MPH
Davis, Roger, PhD	Sankey, Heather, MD	Toye, Amelia, BS, RN	Chakrabarti, Parth, MD, MBA	Menard, Alexander, MS, ANP-C
Feldmann, Edward, MD	Sarvet, Barry, MD	Walker, Amy, PhD	Collins, Michael F., MD	Moffatt- Bruce, Susan, MD, PhD
FitzGerald, TJ, MD	Seddon, Johanna, MD, ScM	Vitello, Joan, RN, PhD	Colombo, Lisa, DNP, MHA, RN	Mosenthal, Anne, MD, FACS
Haessler, Sarah, MD, MS	Schiffer, Celia, PhD		Dickson, Eric, MD, MHCM	Munson, Mary, PhD
Harris, John, MD, PhD	Sokoloff, Mitchell, MD		Duncan, Marlina, EdD	Potts, Stacy
Hicks, Richard, MD	Stain, Steven, MD		Emerson, Charles, PhD	Precourt, Justin
Jabbour, Nicolas, MD	Stauff, Michael, MD		Erwin, John, MBA	Rosal, Milagros, PhD
Johnson, Mark, MD, PhD	Vieira, Peter, MD		Fino, Mireli, MBA	Sell, Peter, MD
Kaufman, Michael, MD	Volturo, Gregory, MD		Fischer, Melissa, MD, Med	Sena Esteves, Miguel, PhD
Keitz, Sheri, MD	Walhout, Marian, PhD		Fitzgerald, Kate, PhD	Thompson, Paul, PhD
Kelliher, Michelle, PhD	Wald, Christoph, MD		Frazier, Jean, MD	Trivedi, Chinmay, MD, PhD
Khan, Ashraf, MD	Walz, Matthias, MD		Friedmann, Peter, MD	Weaver, David, PhD
Kim, Daniel, MD	Weng, Zhiping, PhD		Gao, Guangping, PhD	Wolf, Gregory
Litwin, Demetrius, MD	Winder, Danny PhD		Garcia, Maria, MD	
McKee, Diane, MD, MS	Yonkers, Kimberly, MD		Gerber, Jonathan, MD	
McCormick, Beth, PhD	Zamore, Phillip, PhD		Hayes, John	
McManus, David, MD			Hinchey, Kevin, MD	

Dr. McManus called the meeting to order.

STANDING REPORTS

Welcome

Dr. McManus welcomed the newly appointed Chairs of the Lahey Regional Campus departments to the Executive Council.

Chancellor Updates

Chancellor Collins announced that the 36th annual tribute to Martin Luther King Jr will be held on Wednesday, January 31st. Dr. Joan Reid, the Dean of Diversity and Community Partnership at Harvard Medical School, will be attending the tribute. Dr. Collins will announce the winner for the Chancellor's Awards for Advancing Institutional Excellence in Diversity and Inclusion will be announced at the January 31st MLK Jr tribute. The Semester of Service Awards will also be announced at this event.

Dr. Collins announced that the deadline for the Chancellor's medal nominations is January 31st. The medals are for Distinguished Teaching, Distinguished Service and Distinguished Scholarship.

Dr. Collins announced the Junior Development Faculty Virtual Poster Event will be held on Monday, February 5th at 5:30pm via zoom.

Dr. Collins announced that UMass Chan has been named by Money Magazine as one of the best medical schools for your money. Also noted in Money Magazine is that UMass Chan graduates are the second highest early career salary earners, 2^{nd} to UCSF.

Dr. Collins announced that the <u>winter edition</u> of the UMass Chan magazine was recently published. There is a profile of Dr. Crista Johnson-Agbakwu, the inaugural Executive Director of Collaborative in Health Equity as well as some stories of families of children with genetic disorders that inspired gene therapy research. Dr. Collins congratulated Jennifer Berryman and her team for the latest edition.

Dr. Collins announced that Dr. James Dalen passed away on January 16th. Dr. Dalen was an interim Chancellor at the University of Massachusetts Medical School in 1987. When he left the University of Massachusetts Medical School he went to the University of Arizona and became one of the lead executives there. Dr. Collins awarded Dr. Dalen an honorary degree in 2013.

Dr. Collins announced that Dr. Robert Tranquada, the second Chancellor of the University of Massachusetts Medical School, passed away in December. When he left here he went on to be the Dean at Keck and then most recently lived in San Francisco.

Dr. Collins welcomed Dr. Danny Winder, the incoming chair for the Department of Neurobiology.

Dr. Collins announced that the new Education Research Building will be officially opening we have Friday, June seventh.

BRIEF DISCUSSION AND VOTE:

Meeting Minutes

Having determined a quorum was met, the November minutes were approved.

PRESENTATIONS

TH Chan School of Medicine Bylaws Revision: Dr. Ahn

Dr. Ahn presented the final version of the revision to the T. H. Chan School of Medicine Bylaws. Motion to approve; approved The Bylaws will be voted on by the Faculty-at-Large, followed by administrative approval.

Morningside Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences Establishment of New Programs of Study: Dr. Lane

Dr. Lane presented the proposed programs of study for the Morningside Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences. Motion to Endorse; Motion approved

Chancellor's Mentoring Award: Dr. Ahn

Dr. Ahn gave a presentation on the Chancellor Mentoring award.

Nominations Committee Representatives & Process: Dr. Ahn

Dr. Ahn gave a presentation on the Nominations Committee Process for 2024.

Dr. Ahn called for approval of the proposed slate of Executive Council representatives to serve as the voting members on the Nominations Committee:

- David McManus, MD- Medicine
- M. Diane McKee, MD- Family Medicine
- Marian Walhout, PhD- Systems Biology

Update on Research Cores: Dr. Schafer

Dr. Schafer gave a presentation on an update of the Research Cores

Meeting adjourned.

ADJOURNMENT

Dr. McManus called for a motion to adjourn. Motion approved.