School of Medicine graduates welcomed by alumni

May 31, 2013

The Alumni Association welcomed the largest class of School of Medicine graduates into the fold at a celebratory breakfast on Friday, May 31. Members of the class also received educational honors and recognized outstanding educators at one of the last official events before Commencement on Sunday, June 2.

Chancellor Michael F. Collins asked graduates to “be in the moment” during the weekend’s Commencement festivities. He predicted that at some point, there will be a moment when each graduate will realize the enormity of his or her accomplishment.

“I hope you will be able stand back from it for a bit and feel that moment and appreciate this enormous privilege you have for the rest of your life,” said Chancellor Collins. “You are now going to be given the privilege to hold your patient’s hand. And it is my conviction, and the conviction of our dean and our faculty, that we have prepared you well for that role.”


Student Award Recipients


Chancellor’s Award
Jesse A. Columbo

Sandy Marks Memorial Award
Megan Helene Weeks

Ann Nemitz Memorial Award
Alyssa J. Finn
Mark Christopher Fitzgerald

Sarah L. Stone Memorial Award
Patricia Lemos Pringle

Gary D. Winzelberg, MD ’74, Memorial Award
Leah H. Biller

Jacob Brem Pediatric Award
Katelyn Meghan Even

Marianne Felice Adolescent Health Award
Michelle Colleen McCreary

American Academy of Neurology Prize for Excellence in Neurology
Julia Grant Ciampa

Society for Academic Emergency Medicine Medical Student Excellence in Emergency Medicine Award
David Hua Wang

Excellence in Obstetrics & Gynecology Award
Rachel Cannon

UMass Surgical Society Award for Excellence in Student Clinical Performance
Kimberly Taylor LeBlanc

UMass Surgical Society Award for Excellence in Surgical Education
Matthew Adam Bartek

Association of Academic Surgery Student Research Award
Caitlin Bonney

New England Pediatric Society Award
Michael Sullivan Epstein

Massachusetts Medical Society Scholars Award for Academic Excellence
Sandra Katlyn Beverly
Katelyn Meghan Even
Timothy Patrick Gleeson
David Hua Wang

The Leonard Tow Humanism in Medicine Award presented by The Arnold P. Gold Foundation
Andrew J. Chandler

American Medical Women’s Association Award
Leah H. Biller
Michelle Lynn Dyke
Katelyn Meghan Even
Michelle Colleen McCreary
Sophia Catherine Nyberg Paraschos
Erica Weston
Shelley Yang

Faculty Award Recipients


Outstanding Clinical Medical Educators
Mitchell A. Cahan, MD
David M. Clive, MD
Frank J. Domino, MD
William (Jerry) A. Durbin, MD
Timothy E. Gibson, MD
Michael P. Hirsh, MD
Marie Sosa, MD
Rebecca Spanagel, MD
Oscar Starobin, MD

Outstanding House Officers
James E. Carroll, MD
Walter M. Kim, MD, PhD
Julie Anne O’Brien, MD
Krunal Patel, MD
Husain Poonawala, MD
Robyn Deborah Wing, MD