Aghababian elected president of Mass Medical Society

May 22, 2012
  Richard V. Aghababian, MD

Richard V. Aghababian, MD, professor of emergency medicine and the founding chair of the Department of Emergency Medicine, was elected president of the Massachusetts Medical Society at the organization's annual meeting on Thursday, May 17.

He succeeds Lynda Young, MD, clinical professor of pediatrics, as the top officer of the society, the statewide membership organization representing nearly 24,000 physicians and medical students in the commonwealth.

Dr. Aghababian has a long record of distinguished service with the state medical society. He served as president-elect and vice president, respectively, for the last two years, and was secretary-treasurer for two years prior to that. He has also been a member of its District Leadership Council and House of Delegates and was a member of the committees on finance, nominations, physician preparedness, global medicine and medical education.

Aghababian served as chairman of the Department of Emergency Medicine from 1994 to 2007. A fellow of the American College of Emergency Physicians, he is still active in education in disaster response and international development of emergency medical systems. Aghababian has also held a number of key leadership posts in local and national groups. He has served as president of the Worcester District Medical Society, the Massachusetts College of Emergency Physicians, American College of Emergency Physicians and the Society for Airway Management. He is the secretary-treasurer of the Society for Chest Pain Centers, a national group that helps hospitals improve management of cardiac patients in an observation setting.

An editor-in-chief, associate editor and contributing author for several textbooks and a widely-published author and lecturer on topics in emergency medicine, disaster response and preparedness, Aghababian has received honors and awards for his contributions to medicine and the community from the American Red Cross, the Worcester District Medical Society, Massachusetts College of Emergency Physicians and the University of Massachusetts. In 2007, he was a recipient of the Annual Health Care Heroes Award from the Worcester Business Journal.

Related link on UMassMedNow:
Students honored as Mass. Medical Society scholars