Medical Education


Undergraduate Medical Education
Graduate Medical Education
Internal Medicine Residency
Dermatology Residency

SIM sm


Endocrinology, Diabetes & Metabolism

alper rounds

Infectious Diseases & Immunology
Pulmonary, Allergy & Critical Care
Renal Medicine


Leadership in Medical Education

The Department of Medicine’s commitment to academic medicine programs is reflected in committee membership and leadership:  Admissions Committee; Educational Policy Committee; Faculty Council; Personnel Action Committee; Tenure Committee; Affirmative Action Committee; Committee on Committees; Faculty Grievance Committee; Library Committee; Patent Policy Committee; Student Affairs Committee; Scientific Council; Women’s Faculty Committee; and Graduate Council. One faculty member in the Division of Rheumatology is Associate Dean for Graduate Medical Education, and Department of Medicine faculty are members of the Graduate Medical Education Committee.


Numerous UMMS medical education awards are garnered annually by DoM faculty members, in recent years to include:  Outstanding Clinical Medical Educators, Outstanding Basic Science Medical Educator; the Lamar Soutter Award; the Women’s Faculty Award; the Community Faculty Educator Award; and the Emeritus Award for Excellence in Medical Education.

The DoM provides incentive awards for Medical Education effort and excellence to several faculty members.

Departmental awards included the Sarah L. Stone Award to one young faculty member and one resident, and its Educational Achievement Award to three faculty members.

Faculty Award Recipients


Lamar Soutter Award Recipients
Robert W. Craig

Education Achievement “Star” Award
Gary Blanchard
Daniel Mullin
Mary Hawthorn

Community Educator Award
Michael Burdulis
Brian Dressel

Patient Teacher Award
Melinda Carneiro


Outstanding Community Service Award
Sarah Sheilds, MD, MS

Sarah Stone Excellence in Education Award
Sonia Chimienti, MD

Early Career Achievement in Science and Health 
Amy Wachholtz, PhD

Women in Science and Health Achievement Award
Sherry Pagato, PhD

Excellence in Clinical Services Award
Ruthann Rizzi, MD

Outstanding Mentor Award 
Linda Weinreb, MD