# Chancellor's Medal Awards

Call for Nominations
Submission Deadline: January 31, 2024



## These prestigious awards are presented at the Convocation / Investiture Ceremony at the start of each academic year.

- Medal for Clinical Excellence
- Medal for Distinguished Scholarship
- Medal for Distinguished Service
- Medal for Distinguished Teaching





### Who is eligible?

Faculty members in any of the three schools – medicine, nursing and biomedical sciences – who hold the rank of associate or full professor are eligible for nomination.









Morningside Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences



#### **Chancellor's Medal for Distinguished Clinical Excellence**

This medal is based on the candidate's excellence in clinical care during the period of their association with UMass Chan. Candidates for this medal should have had a substantial clinical practice – medical and/or nursing - over the course of their academic careers and serve as role models for peers, residents, and students in their provision of quality clinical care and in their interactions with all members of the health care team.

#### **Past Recipients**

2012 Oscar Starobin, MD, professor of medicine

2013 Richard Irwin, MD, professor of medicine and nursing

2014 Karen Green, MD, professor of obstetrics and gynecology

2015 John Zawacki, MD, professor of medicine

2016 David Drachman, MD, professor of neurology

2017 Robert Quinlan, MD, professor of surgery

2018 Theo Meyer, MD, PhD, professor of medicine

2019 Sarah Cheeseman, MD, professor of medicine

2021 **Janice Lalikos, MD**, professor of surgery

2022 Ira Ockene, MD, professor of cardiovascular medicine

2023 Kathryn Edmiston, MD, associate professor of medicine





#### **Chancellor's Medal for Distinguished Scholarship**

This medal is based on the scholarly work that the candidate has produced during the period of their association with UMass Chan. The candidate's work must exhibit excellence as evidenced by its import and impact nationally and internationally. The assessment of peers, both internal and external to the campus, will carry particular weight in the medal process, as will extramural grant funding and publications in scholarly journals with high impact. In addition to being an excellent scholar, candidates should have demonstrated an ability to engage others in their work, e.g., graduate students.

#### **Past Recipients**

- 2010 Michael P. Czech, PhD, professor and chair of the program in molecular medicine
- 2011 **Michael R. Green, MD, PhD,** director, program in gene function and expression, professor of molecular medicine, investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute
- 2012 Roger Davis, PhD, FRS, professor, program in molecular medicine, investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute
- 2013 **Thomas Grisso**, **PhD**, professor of psychiatry
- 2014 Alan Jacobson, PhD, professor of microbiology and physiological systems
- 2015 Phillip D. Zamore, PhD, professor of biochemistry and molecular pharmacology
- 2016 Steven Reppert, MD, the Higgins Family Professor of Neuroscience and distinguished professor of neurobiology
- 2017 Robert H. Brown Jr., DPhil, MD, professor and chair of neurology
- 2018 Katherine Fitzgerald, PhD, professor of medicine
- 2019 Job Dekker, PhD, professor of biochemistry and molecular biotechnology
- 2021 Anastasia Khvorova, PhD, professor of RNA therapeutics
- 2022 Marian Walhout, PhD, professor and chair of systems biology
- 2023 Douglas Golenbock, MD the Neil and Margery Blacklow Chair in Infectious Diseases and Immunology and professor of medicine



#### **Chancellor's Medal for Distinguished Service**

This medal is based on the candidate's service contributions during the period of their association with UMass Chan. Candidates for this medal should have provided service that is consistent with the mission of the commonwealth's first and only public medical school. The service activities should have made demonstrable, substantial and long-lasting contributions to the campus community (academic or clinical) or the community at large or to the candidate's discipline or profession. These may include both exemplary clinical service and public service activities.

#### **Past Recipients**

- 2010 John Sullivan, MD, professor of pediatrics and molecular medicine,
- 2011 Marianne E. Felice, MD, professor of pediatrics and obstetrics/gynecology
- 2012 Daniel Lasser, MD, MPH, professor and chair, department of family medicine and community health
- 2013 Judith K. Ockene, PhD, MEd, MA, professor of medicine and quantitative health sciences
- 2014 Michele Pugnaire, MD, professor of family medicine and community health
- 2015 Thoru Pederson, PhD, professor of biochemistry and molecular pharmacology
- 2016 **Deborah Harmon Hines, PhD**, professor of radiology and vice provost for school services
- 2017 **Michael P. Hirsh, MD**, professor of surgery and pediatrics
- 2018 Robert Baldor, MD, professor of family medicine and community health
- 2019 Matilde Castiel, MD, associate professor of medicine
- 2021 Robert Finberg, MD, professor of medicine
- 2022 **Deborah DeMarco**, **MD**, professor of medicine
- 2023 Jill Terrien, PhD, associate professor of nursing



#### **Chancellor's Medal for Distinguished Teaching**

This medal is based on a candidate's longstanding teaching contributions during the period of their association with UMass Chan Medical School. Candidates for this medal must have demonstrated the ability to teach effectively and evaluate diverse students in a range of courses and on a variety of levels, to adapt different modes of teaching to different learning situations, and to explore novel teaching methods. In addition to being excellent course instructors, candidates should have demonstrated excellence in related activities, such as advising and mentoring students, developing and assessing curricula, assessing student learning outcomes, and guiding junior faculty to develop their teaching skills. Nominations should provide evidence that the candidate's teaching has fostered students' personal, intellectual and professional development. The scope of this medal would cover the T. H. Chan School of Medicine (including GME programs); the Tan Chingfen Graduate School of Nursing; the Morningside Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences.

#### **Past Recipients**

- 2010 Susan B. Gagliardi, PhD, professor of cell biology and neurology
- 2011 William "Jerry" Durbin, MD, professor of pediatrics and internal medicine
- 2012 **Sheldon Benjamin**, **MD**, professor of psychiatry and neurology
- 2013 Richard Glew, MD, professor of medicine and microbiology and physiological systems
- 2014 David Clive, MD, FACP, professor of medicine
- 2015 Julie Jonassen, PhD, professor of microbiology and physiological systems
- 2016 **David Hatem, MD**, professor of medicine
- 2017 Anne Gilroy, MA, associate professor of clinical anatomy, departments of radiology, anesthesia, and orthopedics
- 2018 Janet Fraser Hale, PhD, RN, FNP, professor, graduate school of nursing
- 2019 Mai-Lan Rogoff, MD, professor of psychiatry
- 2021 Pang-Yen Fan, MD, professor of medicine
- 2022 Melissa Fischer, MD, MEd, professor of medicine
- 2023 Susan Zweizig, MD, professor of obstetrics and gynecology



#### **Nomination requirements and timeline**

Initial nominations due Jan 31, 2024:

- -Nominee's CV
- -One-page nomination

The selection committees will choose finalists and contact the nominators by end of February 2024.

Final nomination packets will be due March 29, 2024.

The Chancellor, will announce the medal recipients at the 2024 Convocation/Investiture Ceremony.

Materials in excess of that which is requested will not be considered.

Margie Rodriguez at 508-856-2107 faculty.affairs@umassmed.edu



