

EXECUTIVE COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES September 16, 2021

INVITEES/ATTENDEES

Voting Members- Chairs		Voting Members- Other	Non-Voting Members-	
Allison, Jeroan, MD	Moore Simas, Tiffany, MD, MPH Med	Abramo, Kristin	Ahn, Mary, MD	Hinchey, Kevin, MD
Ayers, David MD	Rathlev, Niels, MD	Colwell, Lauren	Artenstein, Andrew, MD	Larkin, Anne, MD
Baldor, Robert, MD	Rhein, Lawrence, MD, MPH	Fain, James	Berryman, Jennifer	Lindstedt, John, CPA
Boney, Charlotte, MD	Rock, Kenneth, MD	Flotte, Terence, MD	Chakrabarti, Parth, MD, MBA	Luzuriaga, Katherine, MD
Budnik, Vivian, PhD	Rosen, Max, MD	Lane, Mary Ellen, PhD	Collins, Michael MD	Manno, Mariann, MD
Davis, Roger, PhD	Sankey, Heather, MD	Mandrekar, Pranoti, PhD	Colombo, Lisa, DNP, MHA	Mattocks, Kristin, PhD, MPH
Feldmann, Edward, MD	Sarvet, Barry, MD	McMaster, Erin, MD	Dekker, Job, PhD	Peterson, Kenneth, PhD, RN
FitzGerald, TJ, MD	Schaal, Shlomit, MD	Pavao, M. Richard, MD	DeMarco, Deborah, MD	Pryciak, Peter, PhD
Green, Michael, PhD	Silver, Brian, MD	Sadasivam, Rajani, PhD	Dickson, Eric, MD, MHCM	Rosal, Milagros, PhD
Harris, John, MD, PhD	Sokoloff, Mitchell, MD	Vitello, Joan, RN, PhD	Emerson, Charles, PhD	Schaal, Shlomit, MD, PhD
Hicks, Richard, MD	Thomas, Abraham, MD, MPH		Fino, Mireli, MBA	Schanzer, Andres, MD
Jabbour, Nicolas, MD	Vieira, Peter, MD		Fischer, Melissa, MD, Med	Schiffer, Celia, PhD
Jacobson, Allan, PhD	Volturo, Gregory, MD		Frazier, Jean, MD	Sell, Peter, MD
Johnson, Mark, MD, PhD	Walz, Matthias, MD		Friedmann, Peter, MD	Walhout, Marian, PhD
Khan, Ashraf, MD	Yonkers, Kimberly, MD		Gao, Guangping, PhD	Weaver, David, PhD
Kim, Daniel, MD	Zamore, Phillip, PhD		Gottlieb, Amy, MD	Weng, Zhiping, PhD
Litwin, Demetrius, MD		·	Green, Michael, MD, PhD	Wolf, Gregory
Matthews, C. Robert, PhD			Gustafson, Michael, MD	
McKee, Diane, MD, MS		·	Harlan, David, MD	
McManus, David, MD		-	Hayes, John	

Dr. Walz called the meeting to order

BRIEF DISCUSSION AND VOTE: MINUTES

Having determined a quorum was met, the May minutes were approved.

STANDING REPORTS

Chancellor Update

Dr. Collins gave an overview of the Sept. 7th press announcement regarding The Morningside Foundation's \$175 million historic gift commitment to the medical school. A campus celebration featuring Dr. Gerald Chan was held in the Faculty Conference Room on the afternoon of September 7th. Shortly after the naming gift was announced, the Medical School's Communications team rolled out the new branding and style guide that should be used to properly update all print and web materials to reflect the University's new naming conventions and logos. There will be branding webinars scheduled for faculty and staff to learn about how to transition their print and web materials over to the new font and logo. Around the start of the new year, Provost Flotte will lead a visioning exercise to help think about how best to leverage and maximize the gift funding in the years ahead.

The start of school year was kicked off with the Convocation and Investiture Ceremony. Photos of the newly endowed faculty and the recipients of the Chancellor's Medals were shared. Dr. Robert Finberg was posthumously awarded the Distinguished Service medal. His wife, Dr. Joyce Fingeroth, accepted the medal.

The Graduate Entry Pathway Pinning Ceremony was held. The nursing pin was updated with the new school name, the Tan. Chingfen Graduate School of Nursing.

A Morningside Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences' Recognition Ceremony was held to acknowledge the achievement of the graduate students who recently passed the qualifying exam.

The White Coat Ceremonies were held for the classes of 2024 and 2025 on Friday, September 17, 2021 at the Hanover Theater.

Provost Update

Dr. Flotte thanked the leadership on the Executive Council in helping us implement the COVID-19 vaccine for all students, residents, and UMass Medical school-only employees. The Medical School's mitigation strategies are hoped to be matched with that of UMass Memorial Medical Center. Due to the Delta variant, we're seeing more cases this week than last week. 99% of clinical samples of positive COVID-19 results are due to the Delta variant. Medical school cases are all breakthroughs.



PRESENTATIONS

Executive Council Non-Voting Members: Dr. Walz

Dr. Walz reviewed the proposed slate for the EC Non-voting members. Motion to approve; approved

Program in Systems Biology as a Department: Dr. Walhout

Dr. Walhout gave a presentation on the establishment of Systems Biology as a Department.

IT Update: Greg Wolf

Greg Wolf gave a presentation on 2-factor authentication.

ADJOURNMENT

Dr. Walz called for a motion to adjourn. Motion approved.