

# EXECUTIVE COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES May 20, 2021

#### INVITEES/ATTENDEES

Voting Members- Chairs		<b>Voting Members- Other</b>	Non-Voting Members-	
Allison, Jeroan, MD	McKee, Diane, MD, MS	Abramo, Kristin	Artenstein, Andrew, MD	Kneeland, Michael, MD
Ayers, David MD	McManus, David, MD	Colwell, Lauren	Berryman, Jennifer	Lane, Mary Ellen, PhD
Baldor, Robert, MD	Moore Simas, Tiffany, MD, MPH Med	Fain, James	Chakrabarti, Parth, MD, MBA	Larkin, Anne, MD
Boney, Charlotte, MD	Rathlev, Niels, MD	Flotte, Terence, MD	Chimienti, Sonia, MD	Lindstedt, John, CPA
Budnik, Vivian, PhD	Rhein, Lawrence, MD, MPH	Lane, Mary Ellen, PhD	Collins, Michael MD	Luzuriaga, Katherine, MD
Davis, Roger, PhD	Rock, Kenneth, MD	Mandrekar, Pranoti, PhD	Colombo, Lisa, DNP, MHA	Manno, Mariann, MD
Feldmann, Edward, MD	Rosen, Max, MD	McMaster, Erin, MD	Dekker, Job, PhD	Mattocks, Kristin, PhD, MPH
FitzGerald, TJ, MD	Sankey, Heather, MD	Pavao, M. Richard, MD	DeMarco, Deborah, MD	Peterson, Craig, PhD
Green, Michael, PhD	Sarvet, Barry, MD	Sadasivam, Rajani, PhD	Dickson, Eric, MD, MHCM	Peterson, Kenneth, PhD, RN
Harris, John, MD, PhD	Schaal, Shlomit, MD	Vitello, Joan, RN, PhD	Emerson, Charles, PhD	Schanzer, Andres, MD
Hicks, Richard, MD	Silver, Brian, MD		Fischer, Melissa, MD, Med	Schiffer, Celia, PhD
Jabbour, Nicolas, MD	Sokoloff, Mitchell, MD		Frazier, Jean, MD	Sell, Peter, MD
Jacobson, Allan, PhD	Thomas, Abraham, MD, MPH		Friedmann, Peter, MD	Tosi, Stephen, MD
Johnson, Mark, MD, PhD	Vieira, Peter, MD		Gao, Guangping, PhD	Walhout, Marian, PhD
Khan, Ashraf, MD	Volturo, Gregory, MD		Gottlieb, Amy, MD	Weaver, David, PhD
Kim, Daniel, MD	Walz, Matthias, MD		Gustafson, Michael, MD	Weng, Zhiping, PhD
Litwin, Demetrius, MD	Yonkers, Kimberly, MD		Harlan, David, MD	Wolf, Gregory
Matthews, C. Robert, PhD	Zamore, Phillip, PhD		Hinchey, Kevin, MD	
			Klempner, Mark, MD	

Dr. Fain called the meeting to order

#### **BRIEF DISCUSSION AND VOTE: MINUTES**

Having determined a quorum was met, the May minutes were approved.

### STANDING REPORTS

#### Chancellor Update

Dr. Collins announced that campus activities should be back to normal effective August 1<sup>st</sup>. Those who want to work remotely can make arrangements with their manager and the Work From Home Agreement needs to be filled out and sent to HR. Commencement, Convocation, and Investiture will be held in-person. Other meetings that can be held in-person should be. This is dependent on the virus and any variants that may make us reassess.

## Provost Update

Dr. Flotte introduced Dr. Mary Ahn, the new Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs (VFPA). Dr. Flotte thanked Dr. Mary Ellen Lane, Dean of the GSBS, who served as the interim VPFA for the past year.

Dr. Flotte announced that the first diversity cluster hire is underway for positions on the tenure track being offered at the same time for faculty across four different departments: Neurobiology, Psychiatry, Biochemistry & Molecular Pharmacology and Medicine. These were searches that were already open. There will be a prospective cluster hire with new searches coming up that will likely start in the fall.

#### Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs Update

Dr. Ahn announced that, in alignment with the IMPACT 2025 strategic plan, she is looking forward to working with all of the leaders at the medical school around how to create an inclusive work place environment. The Office of Faculty Affairs is in a unique position to look closely at systemic and structural issues that may make UMMS a better inclusive work place for everyone.

Dr. Ahn is hoping to sponsor and co-sponsor programs with other departments that look closely at the developmental needs of the faculty across their career life-span.

Dr. Ahn announced that the Junior Faculty Development Program graduation is being held this afternoon. Dr. Ahn thanked the mentors for their contributions

Dr. Ahn announced that the Women's Faculty Awards event will be held on May 24th via zoom.



### **PRESENTATIONS**

#### Nominations Committee Recommendations: Dr. Ahn

Dr. Ahn presented the recommendations from the Nominations Committee for the standing committees. Motion to approve; approved.

## Executive Council Officers Election: Dr. Fain

Dr. Fain reviewed the proposed slate for the EC Officer Elections. Motion to approve; approved

### Officers:

Chair- J. Matthias Walz, MD Vice Chair- Kenneth Rock, MD Rules Committee Member- David McManus, MD

# PURCH Update: Dr. Larkin

Dr. Larkin gave an update on PURCH.

# Office of Business & Innovation Update: Parth Chakrabarti

Mr. Chakrabarti gave an update on the office of Business & Development.

### ADJOURNMENT

Dr. Fain called for a motion to adjourn. Motion approved.