Vol. 11 No. 12 - July, 2009

2009 Women’s Faculty Awards

2009 Women’s Faculty Awards
The 2009 Women’s Faculty Award recipients Katharine O’Dell, PhD; Mary Hawthorne, MD; Gyongyi Szabo, MD, PhD; and Ann Sattler, MD, with (from left) UMass Memorial Health Care President and CEO John O’Brien, UMass Memorial Medical Center President Walter Ettinger, Chancellor Michael Collins and Interim Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs Judy Ockene. (Not pictured is recipient Linda Pape, MD.)

At a ceremony in May, the Women’s Faculty Committee presented its 2009 Outstanding Faculty Awards to exceptional faculty for their contributions to education, science, patient care, community service and mentoring of women faculty. The event featured a presentation by C. Robert Matthews, PhD, the Arthur F. and Helen P. Koskinas Professor of Biochemistry & Molecular Pharmacology and chair and professor of biochemistry & molecular pharmacology, entitled “Thoughts and Strategies for Mentoring Women in Science,” with introductory remarks given by Chancellor Michael F. Collins and closing remarks from UMass Memorial Medical Center President Walter H. Ettinger Jr.

  • The Outstanding Community Service Award was presented to Ann L. Sattler, MD, clinical associate professor of pediatrics, for outstanding ser vice to the UMMS and Worcester communities. The Sarah Stone Excellence in Education Award went to Katharine K. O’Dell, PhD, CNM, assistant professor of obstetrics & gynecology, for her contributions in education and curriculum development.
  • Gyongyi Szabo, MD, PhD, professor of medicine and associate dean for clinical and translational research, received the Women in Science and Health Achievements Award for her contributions to the basic sciences in medicine.
  • Mary R. Hawthorne, MD, clinical associate professor of medicine, received the Excellence in Clinical Service Award for her patient care at UMass Memorial Medical Center and in Worcester.
  • Linda A. Pape, MD, professor of medicine, was honored for her support of women faculty with the Outstanding Mentoring Award.

Heading - Focus On...

The Office of Public Affairs