Welcome to the City of Worcester!

City of Worcester

Art Galleries

Cultural Organizations

Museums

Musical Organizations

Theater Companies

Performance Centers

Area Colleges

Restaurants

Ski Areas


The Great Outdoor

Worcester is the second largest city in New England, serving a population of over one million people.  Major industries in the community include education (15 colleges), medical/health, burgeoning biotechnology, electronics, insurance, and diverse manufacturing.  We are small enough to be personal and friendly, yet large enough to offer much to do.

We are located nearly equidistant from Boston, Newport and Providence RI, and Hartford, CT - approximately an hour from each. Our community and surrounding area offers all of the "four-season" activities you are looking for from summer beachside resorts and fall apple picking and hiking, to winter skiing and snowboarding, and spring mountain biking.  Year round you will find cultural events that are truly striking for a community of our size.

For more information about the community and surrounding towns, please see our listing below or visit www.telegram.com, the Chamber of Commerce site at www.worcesterchamber.org or the Central Massachusets On-line Get-away Guide www.centralmass.org.

For New England vacation ideas click below:

Massachusetts: www.massvacation.com
New Hampshire: www.visitnh.gov
Vermont: www.VermontVacation.com
Rhode Island: www.visitrhodeisland.com
Maine: www.usa.visitmaine.com

City of Worcester

City of Worcester - www.ci.worcester.ma.us 

Worcester Public Library - www.worcpublib.org

DCU Center - www.dcucenter.com - one of the nation's most successful arenas and Worcester’s largest venue for concerts, family shows, trade shows, sports events, and more.  The attached state-of-the-art convention center includes 11 separate meeting rooms and 2 ballrooms, is fully integrated with the arena.

Art Galleries

ARTS Worcester - www.artsworcester.org - a non-profit organization that provides programs for the Greater Worcester performing, literary, and visual artist community

Winthrop Studios - www.naturegallery.com - Central New England’s leading digital fine art studio

Worcester Center for Crafts - www.worcestercraftcenter.org - a center of contemporary craft education and an institution dedicated to collectors, students, exhibitors, and shoppers

Cultural Organizations

American Antiquarian Society - www.americanantiquarian.org - a national research library of American history, literature, and culture  through 1876

Worcester County Poetry Association - www.onthecommon.com/otc/wcpa - a forum for local poets, students, and others to celebrate the rich literary history of Central Massachusetts

Museums

Old Sturbridge Village - www.osv.org - 200-acre village with collections, exhibits, and programs allowing visitors to enter the everyday life of a small New England town during the years 1790 to 1840

Worcester Art Museum - www.worcesterart.org - houses more than 35,000 works of art representing more than 50 centuries of creative spirit

Worcester Historical Museum - www.worcesterhistory.org - a unique organization dedicated to collecting, preserving, and interpreting Worcester's history in all time periods and subject areas

Musical Organizations

Music Worcester - www.musicworcester.org - largest non-profit concert presenter of in central Massachusetts providing many performances by world-renowned artists

Thayer Symphony - www.thayersymphony.org - provides programs for the education, enrichment and pleasure of the citizens and musicians of the region

Theater Companies

Calliope Productions Inc - www.calliopeproductions.org - a community theather located in Shrewsbury

Mechanics Hall - www.mechanicshall.com - a historic landmark was built in 1857 as a site for exhibitions.  Today it serves as a concert hall “par excellence,” hosting a variety of concerts, wedding, meetings and other events

Tuckerman Hall - www.tuckermanhall.org - home to the Central Massachusetts Symphony Orchestra, contains two dazzling auditoriums with combined seating of 700

Hanover Theater for the Performing Arts - www.hanovertheater.org - the theatre is enhancing the city by providing a world-class facility for local, national, and international performing artists. In addition, The Hanover Theatre provides opportunities for community and educational enrichment through a variety of outreach programs.

Area Colleges

Anna Maria College - www.annamaria.edu 

Assumption College - www.assumption.edu 

Becker College - www.beckercollege.edu 

Clark University - www.clarku.edu

Holy Cross College - www.holycross.edu 

Fitchburg State University - www.fsc.edu 

Massachusetts College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences - www.mcphs.edu 

Nichols College - www.nichols.edu 

Quinsigamond Community College - www.qcc.edu

Salter School - www.saltercollege-us.com

Tufts University School of Veterinary Medicine - www.tufts.edu/vet

University of Massachusetts Medical School - www.umassmed.edu 

Worcester Polytechnic Institute - www.wpi.edu

Worcester State University - www.worcester.edu

Restaurants

The Worcester area offers a true "melting pot" of delectable edibles from dozens of restaurants which range from steak and seafood to "fine" dining in one of the historical inns.  Their menus offer a variety of ethnic cuisines, including vegetarian dishes, to satisfy all tastes:

  • Brazilian
  • Chinese
  • Family Style
  • French
  • Indian
  • Irish
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Jewish
  • Latin-American
  • Mexican
  • Middle-Eastern
  • Singaporian
  • Thai
  • Vietnamese

Ski Areas

Ski Ward - www.skiward.com - offers seven trails, 5 lifts including a double chair and T-bar. They also have a 300 foot lighted half pipe, and Tubaslide facility.

Mt. Wachusett - www.wachusett.com - offers a scenic sky ride, seasonal festival events, and of course, skiing and snow boarding

The Great Outdoors

Ecotarium - www.ecotarium.org - an environmental science museum set on 60 scenic acres just two miles from downtown Worcester

Tower Hill Botanical Garden - www.towerhillbg.org - New England’s premier public garden containing many distinctive gardens, woodland trails, picnic areas, birdwatching areas, and more

Blackstone River Valley National Heritage State Corridor - www.nps.gov 

Massachusetts Audubon Society - www.massaudubon.org - extends over 300 acres of hiking trails, picnic areas, natural animal habitat, which includes birdwatching, and more

Top of page