Search Committees

Executive Vice Chancellor for Research Search Committee

Pediatric Department Chair Search Committee

Urology Department Chair Search Committee

EXECUTIVE VICE CHANCELLOR FOR RESEARCH SEARCH COMMITTEE

David Harlan, MD (co-Chair)
William and Doris Krupp Professor of Medicine
co-Director, Diabetes Center of Excellence
Division Chief, Diabetes
Director, DERC
Email:
david.harlan@umassmed.edu
Assistant: Patricia Cannon
Email:
patricia.cannon@umassmed.edu

Melissa J. Moore, PhD (co-Chair)
Howard Hughes Medical Institute
co-Director RNA Theraputics Institute
Email:
melissa.moore@umassmed.edu
Assistant: Rina Paladino
email:
rina.paladino@umassmed.edu

Carol Bova, PhD, RN, ANP
Associate Professor of
Nursing and Medicine
Email:
carol.bova@umassmed.edu
Assistant: Ann Lobdell
Email: ann.lobdell@umassmed.edu

Robert Brown, MD, DPhil
Chair, Department of Neurology
co-Director, Neurotherapeutics Institute
Email:
robert.brown@umassmed.edu
Assistant: Sandra Ordway
Email: sandra.ordway@umassmed.edu

Anthony Carruthers, PhD
Dean, Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences
Email:
anthony.carruthers@umassmed.edu
Assistant: Annette Stratton
Email: annette.stratton@umassmed.edu

Michael Czech, PhD
Isadore and Fannie Foxman Chair of
Medical Research
Chair, Program in Molecular Medicine
Email:
michael.czech@umassmed.edu
Assistant: Jane Erickson
Email:
jane.erickson@umassmed.edu

Robert W. Finberg, MD
Chair, Department of Medicine
Email:
robert.finberg@umassmed.edu
Assistant: Debra Poliquin
Email: debra.poliquin@umassmed.edu

Robert Jenal
Executive Vice Chancellor for
Administration and Finance
Email:
robert.jenal@umassmed.edu
Assistant: Dorothy Amaral
Email:
dorothy.amaral@umassmed.edu

Katherine Luzuriaga, MD
Associate Provost of Global Health 
Director, UMass CCTS 
Email: katherine.luzuriaga@umassmed.edu
Assistant: Mindy Donovan – 508-856-6285
Email:
Mindy.donovan@umassmed.edu

   

 

 

 

 

             

Catarina Kiefe, MD, PhD
Chair, Department of Quantative Health Sciences
Email:
catarina.kiefe@umassmed.edu
Assistant: Angela Grubert
Email: angela.grubert@umassmed.edu

Mark S. Klempner, MD
Executive Vice Chancellor, UMass Biologics Laboratories
Email: klempner@bu.edu

Brian Lewis, PhD
Associate Dean Student Diversity
Associate Professor
Email:
brian.lewis@umassmed.edu

C. Robert Matthews, PhD
Chair and Arthur F. and Helen P. Koskinas Professor
Biochemistry and Molecular Pharmacology
Email:
c.robert.matthews@umassmed.edu
Assistant: Karen Welch
Email: karen.welch@umassmed.edu

Craig Mello, PhD
co-Director, RNA Therapeutics Institute
Professor of Molecular Medicine
Email:
craig.mello@umassmed.edu
Assistant: Jean O’Connor
Email:
jean.oconnor@umassmed.edu

Lori Pbert, PhD
Professor of Medicine
Associate Chief, Division of Preventive and Behavioral Medicine
Email:
lori.pbert@umassmed.edu

Deborah L. Plummer, PhD
Vice Chancellor for Human Resources,
Diversity and Inclusion
Email:
deborah.plummer@umassmed.edu
Assistant: Bonnie Bray
Email: bonnie.bray@umassmed.edu

David Polakoff, MD, MSc
Chief Medical Officer, Commonwealth Medicine
Director, Center for Health Policy and Research
Email:
david.polakoff@umassmed.edu
Assistant: Jean Foran
Email: jean.foran@umassmed.edu

Celia Schiffer, PhD
Director, Center for AIDS Research
Director, Institute for Drug Resistance
Professor, Department of Biochemistry and
Molecular Pharmacology
Email:
celia.schiffer@umassmed.edu
Assistant: Christine Pruitte
Email:
christine.pruitte@umassmed.edu


 PEDIATRIC DEPARTMENT CHAIR SEARCH COMMITTEE

Catarina Kiefe, MD, PhD (Committee Chair)
Chair and Professor,
Department of Quantitative Health Sciences
Assistant: Angela Grubert – 508-856-8999
Angela.grubert@umassmed.edu

Frank Bednarek, MD
Neonatologist, UMass Memorial Health Care
Assistant: Julie Sealey – 508-334-6206
Julie.sealey@umassmemorial.org

Robert Brown, MD, DPhil
Chair, Department of Neurology
Assistant: Donna Crowe – 508-856-5989
Donna.crowe@umassmed.edu

Michael Czech, PhD
Isadore and Fannie Foxman Chair of Medical Research
Chair, Program in Molecular Medicine
Assistant: Jane Erickson – 508-856-2254
Jane.erickson@umassmed.edu

Jennifer Daley, MD
Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer UMass Memorial Medical Center
Assistant: Suzanne Marengo – 508-856-3063
Suzanne.marengo@umassmemorial.org

Eric W. Dickson MD, MHCM, FACEP
President and Senior Associate Dean
University of Massachusetts Memorial Medical Group
Assistant: Chris Jackson - 508-334-0312
Chris.jackson@umassmemorial.org

Robert W. Finberg, MD
Chair, Department of Medicine
Assistant: Deb Poliquin - 508-856-1886
Debra.poliquin@umassmed.org

Jean Frazier, MD
The Robert M. and Shirley S. Siff Chair in Autism
Vice Chair, Division of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry
Assistant: Keith Roberts – 508-856-5080
keith.roberts@umassmed.edu

Michael Hirsh, MD, FACS, FAAP
Chief, Division of Pediatric Surgery & Trauma
Surgeon-In-Chief, UMass Memorial Children’s Medical Center
Assistant: Deb Perreault - 508-856-2128
Deborah.perreault@umassmemorial.org

 

             

Julia Johnson, MD
Chair, Department of Obstetrics & Gynecology
Assistant: Karrie Brown - 508-334-5369
Karrie.brown@umassmemorial.org

Jean King, PhD
Vice Chair of Research, Dept. of Psychiatry 
Director, Center for Comparative NeuroImaging
Assistant: Marcy Kelley – 508-856-8326
Marcy.kelley@umassmed.edu

Daniel Lasser, MD, MPH
Chair, Department of Family Medicine and Community Health
Assistant: Jean Roy- 508-856-2246
Jean.roy@umassmed.edu

Katherine Luzuriaga, MD
Associate Provost of Global Health
Director, UMass CCTS
Assistant: Mindy Donovan – 508-856-6285
Mindy.donovan@umassmed.edu

Linda Sagor, MD, MPH
Division Chief, General Pediatrics
Assistant: Aracely Valencia – 774-442-4198
Aracely.valencia@umassmemorial.org

Luanne Thorndyke, MD, FACP
Vice Provost for Faculty Affairs
Assistant: Margie Rodriguez – 508-856-2107
Margie.rodriguez@umassmed.edu

Lynda M. Young, MD
Chief, Division of Community Pediatrics
Assistant: Peggy Chan – 508-752-4511
pchen@mms.org


UROLOGY DEPARTMENT CHAIR SEARCH COMMITTEE 

David Ayers, MD
Chair, Department of Orthopedics (Committee Chair)
Assistant: Kathleen Orell – 508-334-9750
Kathleen.orell@umassmemorial.org

Jesse Aronowitz, MD
Professor of Radiation Oncology
Assistant: Karen Boland – 774-442-2082
Karen.boland@umassmemorial.org

Paula B. Bellin, MD
291 Lincoln Street Suite 301 Worcester, MA 01605
Assistant: Melinda Miville – 508-755-8668
Melinda.miville@umassmemorial.org

Victoria M. Diamond
Senior Vice President
UMass Memorial Medical Center
Assistant: Briana Gibson – 774-443-2275
Briana.gibson@umassmemorial.org

Michael Flynn, MD, MHS
Chief, Division of Urogynecology & Reconstructive Pelvic Surgery Associate Professor of Obstetrics & Gynecology
Assistant: Jenn Porter – 508-334-8454
Jennifer.porter@umassmemorial.org

David Harlan, MD
William and Doris Krupp Professor of Medicine
Director, Diabetes Center of Excellence
Division Chief, Diabetes
Assistant: Trish Cannon – 508-856-3800
trish.cannon@umassmed.edu

             

Timothy Hopkins, MD
Urology 25 Oak Avenue
Worcester, MA 01605
Assistant: Holly Fitzherbert – 508-756-6293
hollyf@worcesterurological.com

Julia Johnson, MD
Chair, Department of Obstetrics & Gynecology
Assistant: Karrie Brown – 508-334-5369
karrie.brown@umassmemorial.org

Anne Larkin, MD
Assistant Dean, Graduate Medical Education Associate Professor of Surgery
Assistant: Mary Joslyn – 508-334-5086
mary.joslyn@umassmemorial.org

Demetrius Litwin, MD
Harry Haidak Professor of Surgery Chair, Department of Surgery
Assistant: Tina Pittman – 508-334-0661
Tina.pittman2@umassmemorial.org

Jeffrey S. Stoff, MD
Chief, Division of Renal Medicine
Assistant: Joan Lange – 508-856-3156
Joan.lange@umassmemorial.org

Michele Streeter
Vice President, Finance and Administrations
UMass Memorial Medical Group
Assistant: Chris Jackson – 508-334-0312
chris.jackson@umassmemorial.org